Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Excerpt alert: read the prologue of WE SPEAK IN STORMS

SHARE

It’s excerpt time! This week, we’re reading We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund!

We Speak in Storms is a powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

Read the excerpt below!

We-Speak-In-Storms-Cover

On October 7, 1961, some of us snuck from our houses, climbing onto roofs, dropping into bushes. Some of us called to our parents: We’ll be at the movies. See you later. We ignored the sharp wind, the chill that ran along the collars of our letterman jackets and the tops of our ankle socks. We loaded the pickup beds with quilts and pillows and packs of beer stolen from our fathers’ basements. Or we piled into cars with our sweethearts, unable to keep our hands still, our skin from buzzing.
We drove into the country and parked our Catalinas, Coupes, VWs, and LeSabres in neat lines, mirror to mirror, facing the two-story whitewashed wall. We checked our watches, ordered pop from the waitresses, and made final trips to the outhouse, a few of us glancing warily up at the clouds. The projectionist started Breakfast at Tiffany’s, wobbly at first, the image gritty, and then, finally, everything was steady. Above us: our stars. We climbed into the back seats to neck our sweethearts, happy in the shadows. Or we sprawled with our friends in the truck beds like sleeping puppies, backs on knees, shoulder blades on stomachs, legs on legs. The movie’s light playing out on our faces, in our eyes.

The wind grew stronger, and those of us outside pulled the blankets up to our chins and scooted closer to one another. The rain was next, pelting the cars’ steel roofs. We squeezed into truck cabs, sitting on one another’s laps, or we continued to fog rolled-up windows, kissing furiously—as though we knew time was almost up.

The movie stopped. A bullhorn announced something, the voice lost in the wind. Cars started for the exit, but it jammed. Some of us watched through blurred windows and waited, thinking the storm would pass.

Then, abruptly, the rain stopped. We laughed at our fear and clamored for the projectionist to start the movie back up. We failed to notice that the night sky had become the color of jade. Even though we’d grown up in the Midwest, most of us had never seen a tornado. Not up close. Not with its great, wide spin, its tapering cone. We’d never heard the roar, the rumored freight-train scream.

Not until that moment.

We panicked, put our cars in reverse, and drove madly through the field, ignoring lanes and rights-of-way. There were crashes. Some of us spilled from our cars and sprinted for the snack bar, the outhouse, the ditches. There were those of us who screamed and those who froze, facing the tornado.

We were a whole generation of Mercer. We were sons and daughters, born at the end of our parents’ Great War. In a few years, we were supposed to go to college, join the military, marry, or stay home to help with the farm. We were supposed to leave and come back or never leave at all. We were supposed to raise children here, love them like we were loved, teach them loyalty to the town and its lore. Our children were supposed to sneak out of houses, pile into pickups, and watch their own stars. It was supposed to be a cycle, we thought. On and on and on.

How were we to know.

 

 

Missed last week’s #FridayReads? Read an excerpt of Frankly in Love here!

#Bookish

Cover Reveal: SOURCES SAY by Lori Goldstein

Cover reveal time! Sources Say by Lori Goldstein is a funny, heartfelt novel about feuding exes running for class president and the scandal that makes the previously boring school election the newest trending hashtag. Two exes. One election. All the drama. At Acedia High School outside of Boston, student council has always been nothing more than a popularity contest. Nobody … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!     … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Alice by Heart

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Alice by Heart by Steven Sater. A young girl takes refuge in a London Tube station during WWII and confronts grief, loss, and first love with the help of her favorite book, Alice in Wonderland, in the debut novel from Tony Award-winning playwright Steven Sater. Scroll down to read the excerpt! … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE AFTERWARD by E.K. Johnston got a glow-up!

If you fell head over heels for the romantic high fantasy The Afterward last year from E.K. Johnston, bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear, then GET READY! Because it’s making a comeback with an all new cover and it. is. STUNNING! Are your eyeballs ready? Yes? Here you go. I KNOW RIGHT?! In … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE STORM OF LIFE

If The Brilliant Death left you dying for book 2, get ready! Because The Storm of Life is getting ready to hit shelves THIS MONTH and we have an excerpt today! Scroll down to read!     When I was a little girl, my father’s tours of Vinalia carried him far from home. While he conducted di Sangro business … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in January!

New year, new you, and NEW BOOKS TOO!   1/7: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story.   1/7: Flowers in the Gutter by K.R. Gaddy – The true story of the Edelweiss Pirates, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLY LIKE A GIRL

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Fly Girl Like a Girl by Mary Jennings Hegar, the inspiring true story of a brave and determined woman who gave her all for her country, her sense of justice, and for women everywhere. Soon to be a major motion picture! Scroll down to read the excerpt. PROLOGUE I glanced out the … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Queen’s Assassin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s, we’re reading The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz (and drooling over the cover!) Get ready for the the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter One Shadow Something … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

It is only JANUARY and one thing is very clear: 2020 is raising the bar on covers across the board. Exhibit A: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come. Aside from being an incredible read and long-awaited finale to the Logan Family series, this book is just plain beautiful. Here are some of … Continued
See More

Best Book Club Reads of the Year!

Some reads just require a buddy to talk about them with. And some reads require more than just one person to discuss, so here are our favorite book club picks of the year!   Frankly in Love by David Yoon You’ll have a lot of feelings both while and after reading this book. Get ready to bring a lot of … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP