Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Romances to Heat Up Your Summer

SHARE

Grab your shades, because these summer romances are hotter than the sun. Perfect for reading at the beach or by the pool, indoors or under the stars, these are the kind of stories that will stick with you for the whole summer and all the summers to follow.

 

 

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Louna’s summer job is to help brides plan their perfect day, even though she stopped believing in happily-ever-after when her first love ended tragically. But when she meets Ambrose, she wonders whether she should give love a second chance. This book has everything you need in a beach read – humor, romance, and an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after.

 

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

In the pages of Alex and Eliza, #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz brings to life the romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler, the love story that shaped a nation!

 

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

9780142425763

Twins Jude and Noah were once inseparable but now they don’t talk. As adventurous Jude falls for a mysterious new boy, will she find a way back to her brother? Does the answer lie in Noah’s childhood crush on the boy next door? Each twin holds only a piece of the puzzle but only together is the story clear.

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

9780142415436

After a car accident Mia loses her family and maybe even her future. Now she must choose between fighting for her life and letting go in this beautifully written novel about love, family, and the choices we make.

 

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

9780147516039

When Sydney’s older brother Peyton is is sent to jail for drunk driving, Sydney feels lost and invisible. But through her new friendship with the eccentric and welcoming Chatham family she’ll begin to heal as she finds friendship, love, and herself.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

9780142419403

Atlanta teen Anna didn’t expect to spend her senior year at a boarding school in Paris and she definitely didn’t expect to meet Etienne – a flirtatious dreamboat who will teach her that wishes have a way of coming true in the City of Lights.

 

The Wrath and the Dawn series by Renée Ahdieh

In this heart-pounding fantasy, Shazi volunteers as the next bride of the Caliph – a ruler who takes new wife every night only to execute her the next morning. Shazi plans to take revenge, but when she discovers the Caliph is more than he seems, will her heart get in the way? Only with her quick wit and determination can she make it to the dawn and discover the secret behind the endless deaths, and maybe even break the cycle once and for all.

 

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

9780142426043

Summer loving is strong between this Romeo and Juliet couple, Jase Garrett and Samantha Reed. As the two fall in love, the Garretts are quick to welcome Sam into their chaotic affectionate family – the total opposite of the reserved Reeds. When the bottom drops out of Sam’s world she must make in impossible choice between her family and Jase’s.

 

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

9781595147677

This spellbinding reimagining of the Aladdin story will keep you up for 1001 nights as jinni Zahra fights for freedom and love. When her very existence is illegal, she must use her cunning and magic to stay alive until she grants her master all three of his wishes. But when she falls for Aladdin, she finds herself suspended between danger and desire.

 

The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

9781595148513

Modern fantasy and romance collide in The Love that Splits the World as Natalie flirts with a gorgeous hometown hero, Beau, and tries to figure out why her small Kentucky town keeps disappearing…literally! Meanwhile, she must decipher the mysterious warning from the apparition she calls Grandmother – “You have three months to save him.”

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer

the-season

Megan McKnight is a soccer star forced to participate in a debutante season by her Southern Belle mother. The only bright side is the debonair and down-to-earth Hank Waterhouse. Megan begins to think that maybe this stuff isn’t all bad… until disaster after disaster culminates in a punch to the face. The season has only just begun, and so has the drama.

 

Never Ever by Sara Saedi

Never Ever HC

Wylie and her juvie-bound brother escape with Phinn, a real-life Peter Pan, to a mysterious tropical island where life is a constant party and no one’s older than seventeen. Wylie’s in heaven! But as Wylie falls for Phinn, she realizes that paradise might hold more secrets and lies than she first thought…but the truth can’t stay hidden forever.

 

The Inside of Out by Jenn Marie Thorne

insideofoutlarge

Daisy is ready to be the perfect ally to her best friend Hannah when she comes out as gay and decides to lead a crusade against their school’s ban on same-sex dates at dances. Daisy is surprised when she goes viral after an interview with adorable college journalist Adam. Hannah ends up left behind as protesters gather and crushes form, and Daisy finds herself having to choose between her friend and the cause she supports.

 

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Daughter of Deep Silence pb

Three souls survived the wreck to tell the drowned ship Persephone‘s story—and two are liars. Frances Mace knows the truth, and she’ll won’t stop until those responsible for the deaths of her loved ones are sleeping with the fishes. But doing so might mean losing the love of her life…and possibly herself.

 

Summer in the Invisible City by Juliana Romano

Summer in the Invisible City HC

Sadie Bell sees the world through her camera, but she didn’t count on meeting Sam this summer, a free-thinking boy who makes her question her goal to befriend the cool girls or bond with her famous artist/absentee father. But Sam only wants to be friends, and when Sadie is hurt by those she loves the most, will his friendship be enough?

 

Feeling the love? Check out these ideas to plan the perfect bookish wedding!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP