Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books to Read After You See the Me Before You Movie

SHARE

The movie adaptation of Jojo Moyes’ blockbuster novel Me Before You has hit the big and small screens, and it was everything we dreamed of! The story of Louisa, a young, quirky girl who brings color and joy back to the life of Will, who has been left almost completely paralyzed by a traumatic accident, it’s an instant tear-jerker, and we’re pumped, because real talk: Who doesn’t love a good cry? In fact, we need a few heart-shattering book to keep the feels train rolling, so without further ado, here are 6 books guaranteed to bring on the emotions:

 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Always read the book before the movie. Trust us: meeting Will and Louisa in their original story is the best way to prepare to see them on the big screen.

 

After You by Jojo Moyes

Get more of the world of Me Before You in its sequel, After You – complete with the characters, emotions, and questions of life and love you crave from Jojo Moyes.

 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This emotional tour-de-force of a novel brings #twinning to a whole new level. Artists Noah and Jude are practically inseparable, until an unexpected tragedy tears the twins apart and leaves them both broken. Nelson’s vivid prose practically jumps off the page, and will have you reaching for your tissues as your heart alternately breaks and bursts with joy.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

No list of heart-wrenching reads would be complete without TFIOS. Hazel Grace and Gus are the epitome of star-crossed lovers, and theirs is the perfect romance to re-read to get your tear-ducts primed for Me Before You. BONUS: If you finish this list, you can always re-watch the TFIOS movie and #uglycry until you have no tears left to shed. At least until June 3rd, when the waterworks come back on!

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

No one brings on the emotions better than Gayle Forman, and this list would not be complete without If I Stay, a novel that will have your heart aching on every page. Adam and Mia’s love is tested when Mia loses her family in a devastating car accident, and leaves Mia’s life hanging in the balance. Will Adam’s love be enough to make Mia stay behind, and face a world without her family?

 

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Sydney and Mac’s love story asks all the right questions: what does it feel like to be seen truly seen for the first time? What does it mean to open yourself up to someone else? And what does it feel like to fall for the right guy…finally? Emotionally powerful and full of depth and discovery, Saint Anything will tug on your heart in all the right ways.

 

 

Ready to tackle this list? Start reading I’ll Give You the Sun and Me Before You

 

Watch the Me Before You trailer!

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: FURYSONG by Rosaria Munda

The finale is coming! Furysong is the third and final book in the Fireborne Trilogy. In this explosive conclusion to the epic story that began with Fireborne, Annie and Lee are fighting for their lives—and for each other—as invading dragonfire threatens to burn their home to the ground. A new revolution is underway, and nobody will emerge unscathed. In … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BREAK THIS HOUSE by Candice Iloh

From Printz honoree and National Book Award Finalist Candice Iloh, a prose novel about a teenager reckoning with her family’s–and her home town’s–secrets. Coming to shelves May 24, 2022! Yaminah Okar left Obsidian and the wreckage of her family years ago. She and her father have made lives for themselves in Brooklyn. She thinks she’s … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE EDGE OF BEING by James Brandon

The Edge of Being by James Brandon is a tender and heartfelt queer YA novel about the multiplicities of grief, deeply held family secrets, and finding new love. Isaac Griffin has always felt something was missing from his life. And for good reason: he’s never met his dad. He’d started to believe he’d never belong in this … Continued
See More

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!   Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming … Continued
See More

Read a sneak peek of THE BONE SPINDLE by Leslie Vedder!

Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SURVIVE YOUR MURDER by Danielle Valentine

Cover reveal time! Scream meets Happy Death Day in How to Survive Your Murder, coming to shelves August 30, 2022! Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial. And in the year since Claire’s death, Alice’s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, she’s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers

The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass is a charming YA rom-com perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and What If It’s Us, coming September 20th, 2022! Micah Summers runs a popular Instagram full of drawings of his numerous imaginary boyfriends (ninety-nine so far)—though he’s never had a real boyfriend before. But when a meet-cute with … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE DEPTHS by Nicole Lesperance

A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next. Prepare for Nicole Lesperance’s stunning novel, The Depths, coming to shelves October 4, 2022! Eulalie Island should be a paradise, but to Addie Spencer, it’s more like a prison. Forced to tag along to the … Continued
See More

8 Winter reads (and where to read them)

Winter is the best time to be a reader–it’s the perfect excuse to stay in, get cozy, and read! Here are some of our favorite wintery picks for your TBR this season (AND the perfect places to read them in!)   About the book: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP