Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The 8 Books Your Bookstagram Needs this Fall

SHARE

Whether you’re snapping away with the iPhone XS or hipster-ing your way through life with a polaroid camera (kidding but you get the gist), every reader tries their hand at bookstagramming at some point. And we love it! So, we’ve gathered a few of our recent fav photos on bookstagram to round up a few autumn-y covers that are worthy of a spot in your fall posting schedule.

 

Bid My Soul Farewell by Beth Revis

This book has autumn colors down to an ART.

 

As Many Nows as I Can Get by Shana Youngdahl 


View this post on Instagram

#amreading with #YAhypeWoman @elishia.in.newyork⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ Tomorrow is new release day, who knew Tuesday’s would become my fav day?! What books are you excited about tomorrow?⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ I was lucky enough to win an advanced copy of As Many Nows A I Can Get by @shanayoungdahl I’ve literally only read the synopsis and the first page (which is only 1 chapter) and my Monday is completely focused on getting home to continue reading it tonight. I’m so ready to jump in. Thanks @penguinteen you guys are the best!⠀ ******Synopsis******⠀ In one impulsive moment the summer before they leave for college, overachievers Scarlett and David plunge into an irresistible swirl of romance, particle physics, and questionable decisions. Told in non-linear, vivid first-person chapters, As Many Nows As I Can Get is the story of a grounded girl who’s pulled into a lightning-strike romance with an electric-charged boy, and the enormity of the aftermath. Cerebral, accessible, bold, and unconventionally romantic, this is a powerful debut about grief, guilt, and reconciling who you think you need to be with the person you’ve been all along.⠀ 

A post shared by Y.A.hype (@y.a.hype) on

Not only does this book make for amazing fall photos, it’s also the perfect rainy day read to sob over during those stormy November days.

 

All the Bad Apples by Möira Fowley-Doyle


View this post on Instagram

Who is an underrated author you enjoy? • • • Happy Wednesday friends! I’ve had this photo in my phone since the beginning of the month and I’m so happy to finally post it. I started this book and I’m loving it. I’m not a huge fan of people on the cover but this one is stunning. • • • This is one of my most anticipated books this summer, if you haven’t read anything by @moirawithatrema I highly suggest you pick up one of her books! Or this one when it’s out in August 😍🖤. • • • QOTD: who is an underrated author you enjoy? • • • #BookRavensJuly19 – fireflies: wickwednesday • #TinyLoveJuly19 – elaborate or simple cover • #AllTheBooksJuly19 – waiting on Wednesday • • • #bibliophile #bookphoto #bookpile #bookobsessed #booknerdigan #bookhoarder #bookdragon #bookcommunity #bookaesthetic #bookstagram #yabooks #yabookstagram #allthebadapples #moirafowleydoyle #bookflatlay #booksandcoffee #bookish#booksbooksbooks #penguinteen

A post shared by Ainslee (@jestandhearts) on

Or should we say FALL the Bad Apples hahaha

 

Steel Tide by Natalie C. Parker

(Best read and photographed on a cold, windy beach as the breeze dramatically blows your hair back and you gaze into the waves.)

 

 

Obviously by Akilah Hughes


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by @aroundthewaybooks on

For when you need a spark of bright green after all the leaves have turned into crunchy-looking targets to stomp on on the sidewalk.

 

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera


View this post on Instagram

Happy Monday! A little book review to start the week 🌈 I almost never love YA, but this book is magic. I adore almost everything about it. 🌻 Juliet is one of the greatest characters I’ve ever read. Reading her story, her voice, felt healing for my younger queer self who was definitely not out and couldn’t see a future for myself that involved self confidence or community. But beyond that, this book resonates so deeply with the extremely messy, complicated reality of navigating feminism and social justice in a white supremacist culture. Juliet’s journey with this is so honest and beautiful, and Gabby Rivera writes the BEST complicated characters (and also captures Portland so freaking well), from the protagonist to the white feminist icon writer she’s interning with to the QPOC community she finds to her wonderful librarian love interest to her parents, brother, aunts and cousin. Juliet’s relationship with her cousin Ava was a highlight among highlights of this book for me; it reminded me of my own relationship with my cousin (hi @char0316 😉). 🌻 One of the greatest strengths of this book for me is that Juliet is her own person. She loves hard & is loved, and she has this great summer thing with the girl of her dreams (the Perfect Love Interest is a trope of YA that normally annoys me but I was hella into this one). But her journey is not about romantic partners so much as about becoming herself: being a total book nerd (can relate); learning about her Puerto Rican heritage; being brave in the face of her fears; learning about the world & about complex ideas, what her values are, and how to live those values in the context of her self, family, and the world. Also, she feels all kinds of emotions and has a lot of love for her body, both of which are extremely appealing and refreshing aspects of her story/character. 🌻 I really can’t say enough good things about this book. These are just a few of the threads of this wonderful novel. I loved every page of it. I feel lucky to have read it and been in the presence of Juliet’s radiant heart and voice. I couldn’t recommend it more. Thanks for the ARC @penguinteen! Opinions are my own. Drops 9/17🌈📚#bookstagram

A post shared by Sarah (@readrunsea) on

This yellow cover tho.

 

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

In all fairness the blue-sprayed edges the first printing will have will probs look good in any season.

 

How It Feels to Float by Helena Fox

Just make sure you get some red and orange tabs for when you inevitably start bookmarking and highlighting your favorite lines because there will be a lot of them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Psyched for fall? Check out every book hitting shelves in September!

 

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP