Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch

By Nnedi Okorafor
SHARE

About Akata Witch

 “Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things.” — Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods 

Affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

      Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a “free agent” with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
      Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
      World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor’s writing: 

“There’s more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor’s work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics.” —Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

“The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

“I always loved science fiction, but I didn’t feel I was part of it—until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor.” —Whoopi Goldberg

“Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor’s work is wonderful!” —Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

“Jam-packed with mythological wonders.” —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

“Okorafor’s imagination is stunning.” —The New York Times Book Review

#AkataWitch

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Last night was a sad night for TV. Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, just had its season finale. But never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while you wait for season three!   If you can’t get enough of retellings… Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh   If … Continued
See More

Replace Your Family With Your Favorite Characters This Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is almost here! That means your favorite (and not-so-favorite) cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, neighbors, grandparents, step-siblings, pets, mailmen, and more are going to be up in your business for at least 3 hours or more *shudders*. And while Thanksgiving is all about being grateful, you can still be grateful for your family while … Continued
See More

The 8 Don’t-Miss Books of 2017 Thus Far

As we head into the last days of August (sob), we’re taking a look back at the biggest books so far this year. We want to make sure you didn’t miss adding any of these awesome reads to your TBR!   City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson This murder mystery set in Kenya has … Continued
See More

8 Diverse Fantasies to Read if You Loved CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of the biggest books of 2018 so far, and has enticed readers with its lush West-African inspired setting and its intriguing world of dark magic. Readers are craving more diverse fantasy, because after a while, the same old stuff gets a little bit tiring! Need more … Continued
See More

11 Creepy Lines From Books That Will Give You Chills

October 31st is practically on our doorstep, which means every day should be spent selecting Halloween candy, picking out scary movies, and cuddling up with books that will chill your blood, send shivers down your spine, and bring out the goosebumps. Read on for some of the creepiest lines from YA books to get you … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About AKATA WITCH by Nnedi Okorafor

Every so often, a fantasy book comes along that reminds you exactly why you fell in love with fantasy in the first place. For us at Penguin Teen HQ right now, that book is Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor: a heart-pounding tale of magic and mystery that’s been called “the Nigerian Harry Potter.” Even though Akata Witch came … Continued
See More

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, … Continued
See More

Get Into the Halloween Spirit With These Wicked Reads

Can you survive these wicked reads? From ghosts to straight up monsters, eerie settings to exorcisms, there’s a plethora of books to read to get you in the Halloween spirit. Read on to find out which one is perfect for you, whether you’re a scared-y cat or a horror expert! And don’t forget to enter for your … Continued
See More

9 Witchy Books to Read on the Winter Solstice

We certainly don’t have to tell someone as magical as you that celebrating magic and witches should never be limited to just Halloween. In fact, with the winter solstice fast approaching, this is almost an even better time to revel in witchy fun! We’ve collected the perfect solstice reading list for you to devour on the shortest of … Continued
See More

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

Don’t worry; we get it.  It was hard being away from Hogwarts for the whole summer.  But while you’re waiting for the 11:00 train from Platform 9¾ to leave, here are some Muggle books you might enjoy!   If you’re a GRYFFINDOR   Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh Seventeen-year-old Mariko’s life is laid out … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP