Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch

By Nnedi Okorafor
SHARE

About Akata Witch

 “Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things.” — Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods 

Affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

      Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a “free agent” with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
      Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
      World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor’s writing: 

“There’s more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor’s work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics.” —Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

“The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

“I always loved science fiction, but I didn’t feel I was part of it—until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor.” —Whoopi Goldberg

“Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor’s work is wonderful!” —Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

“Jam-packed with mythological wonders.” —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

“Okorafor’s imagination is stunning.” —The New York Times Book Review

#AkataWitch

5 books to read while waiting for Children of Virtue and Vengeance

If you’re a YA fantasy fan like we are, then you’ll know that the Children of Blood and Bone phenomenon is set to continue this December with its much anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance. Sequels are always a waiting game, and what better way to pass the time than by diving into another … Continued
See More

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

Need to take a break from stalking the mailman for your Hogwarts letter? Don’t worry, we get it. And we’ve got the perfect list of reads to keep you distracted until it comes!   If you’re a GRYFFINDOR     Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh On her way to the imperial city, Mariko is … Continued
See More

Replace Your Family With Your Favorite Characters This Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is almost here! That means your favorite (and not-so-favorite) cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, neighbors, grandparents, step-siblings, pets, mailmen, and more are going to be up in your business for at least 3 hours or more *shudders*. And while Thanksgiving is all about being grateful, you can still be grateful for your family while … Continued
See More

11 Books to Read for #BlackAThon

#BlackAThon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Last night was a sad night for TV. Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, just had its season finale. But never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while you wait for season three!   If you can’t get enough of retellings… Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh   If … Continued
See More

11 Creepy Lines From Books That Will Give You Chills

October 31st is practically on our doorstep, which means every day should be spent selecting Halloween candy, picking out scary movies, and cuddling up with books that will chill your blood, send shivers down your spine, and bring out the goosebumps. Read on for some of the creepiest lines from YA books to get you … Continued
See More

11 Gorgeous Diverse Covers You Need to See

  From the looks of things, 2019 will be full of amazing new reads. But, let’s be honest. We’re almost equally as excited about all the pretty covers we get to decorate our shelves with too! That being said, here are a few of our favorite covers from the last couple of years and upcoming 2019 releases celebrating … Continued
See More

8 Diverse Fantasies to Read if You Loved CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of the biggest books of 2018 so far, and has enticed readers with its lush West-African inspired setting and its intriguing world of dark magic. Readers are craving more diverse fantasy, because after a while, the same old stuff gets a little bit tiring! Need more … Continued
See More

11 Witchy Books to Read on the Winter Solstice

2018 has kinda been the year of the witch, from The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina to The Wicked Deep! So we certainly don’t have to tell someone as magical as you that celebrating magic should never be limited to just Halloween. In fact, with the winter solstice fast approaching, this is almost an even better time to revel … Continued
See More

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP