Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch

By Nnedi Okorafor
SHARE

About Akata Witch

 “Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things.” — Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods 

Affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

      Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a “free agent” with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
      Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
      World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor’s writing: 

“There’s more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor’s work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics.” —Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

“The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

“I always loved science fiction, but I didn’t feel I was part of it—until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor.” —Whoopi Goldberg

“Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor’s work is wonderful!” —Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

“Jam-packed with mythological wonders.” —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

“Okorafor’s imagination is stunning.” —The New York Times Book Review

#AkataWitch

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More

5 books to read while waiting for Children of Virtue and Vengeance

If you’re a YA fantasy fan like we are, then you’ll know that the Children of Blood and Bone phenomenon is set to continue this December with its much anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance. Sequels are always a waiting game, and what better way to pass the time than by diving into another … Continued
See More

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

Need to take a break from stalking the mailman for your Hogwarts letter? Don’t worry, we get it. And we’ve got the perfect list of reads to keep you distracted until it comes!   If you’re a GRYFFINDOR     Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh On her way to the imperial city, Mariko is … Continued
See More

Books you should be reading while waiting for Shadow and Bone to drop on Netflix

Excited for Shadow & Bone to drop on Netflix this April? SAME. But waiting is hard. So, here are 9 fantasy books we think you should read while you wait!   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda The dragons of Callipolis could certainly give the volcra of the Shadow Fold a run for their money… or would … Continued
See More

11 Books to Read for #Blackathon

#Blackathon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Last night was a sad night for TV. Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, just had its season finale. But never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while you wait for season three!   If you can’t get enough of retellings… Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh   If … Continued
See More

16 YA Books For Your #Blackathon2021 TBR

Blackathon is one of our favorite read-a-thons of the year, and this month it’s back for round four! Created by BookTuber Jesse from Bowties & Books, #Blackathon2021 centers books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout February. You can participate across YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, so check out the Blackathon Twitter … Continued
See More

11 Gorgeous Diverse Covers You Need to See

  From the looks of things, 2019 will be full of amazing new reads. But, let’s be honest. We’re almost equally as excited about all the pretty covers we get to decorate our shelves with too! That being said, here are a few of our favorite covers from the last couple of years and upcoming 2019 releases celebrating … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to incredible debut voices such as Amanda Joy, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and … Continued
See More

11 Witchy Books to Read on the Winter Solstice

2018 has kinda been the year of the witch, from The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina to The Wicked Deep! So we certainly don’t have to tell someone as magical as you that celebrating magic should never be limited to just Halloween. In fact, with the winter solstice fast approaching, this is almost an even better time to revel … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP