Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

SHARE

Need to take a break from stalking the mailman for your Hogwarts letter? Don’t worry, we get it. And we’ve got the perfect list of reads to keep you distracted until it comes!

 

If you’re a GRYFFINDOR

 

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

Flame-in-the-Mist-COVER

On her way to the imperial city, Mariko is ambushed by a gang of bandits hired to kill her – so she disguises herself as a boy to lay low. A tale all about adventure, bravery, and taking charge of your own future. Do we hear a Gryffindor roar?

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ACOTAR

How far would you go to save someone you love? Gryffindors everywhere will love rooting Feyre on as she braves test after test for the sake of her loved ones and Prythian. Definitely some brave-hearted Gryffindor vibes here.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Okay, this one is affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” so you already know we’re starting from a good place. This tale of bravery, magic, and justice is perfect for you Gryffindors out there.

 

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Khalid is the teenage Caliph of Khorasan who takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. It is a suspicious surprise, then, when 16-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she has a plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. The ultimate justice story. Go, Go Gryffindor!

 

If you’re a RAVENCLAW

 

 

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

This is very much a Muggle book, as it’s based on a completely true historical event. Three teenagers cross paths in the search for a ship that promises them salvation from a war-torn East Prussia, running as the Russians close in…until tragedy of a different kind strikes. Powerful and moving and eye-opening, this will attract the curious Ravenclaw who might not have known anything about this catastrophic piece of World War II history.

 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows

Ravenclaws are clever planners. You know what takes planning? Heists. Heists take planning. And Ravenclaws will love joining the Six of Crows crew for a high-stakes mission where everything is planned and all of the plans go wrong.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Warcross-COVER

Talk about smart. Warcross stars our brilliant, beloved hacker Emika Chen and her undying ambition to solve the puzzle that is a mysterious glitch in the famous Warcross tournament before it’s too late. The perfect read for all you smartypants Ravenclaws!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

When Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, she risks her life for the rebels who promise his rescue, and spies for them from within the Martial Empire’s greatest military academy. There she meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier, but they soon realize their destinies are intertwined, and that they both are determined to fight against the tyranny of the Empire. Some might argue all the justice and bravery themes happening here make this a Gryffindor read, but we think Ravenclaws will fall in love with the intricate world-building and brilliant minds at play here.

 

If you’re a HUFFLEPUFF

 

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Calling all Hufflepuffs! This is a story of family, friendship, grief, and love. It focuses on the lives of Vic and Mad, and the way their stories intertwine as told to the Hackensack Police Department. Their story begins with the death of Vic’s father, and ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle, and you can bet there’s a whole lot going on in between. We admire Vic and Mad’s group of loyal friends (#squadgoals) that persists through rough times, and if you’re a loyal Hufflepuff we think you’ll enjoy it, too.

 

Paper Towns by John Green

Q is definitely one of the most loyal characters we know.  When his long-time crush Margo Roth Spiegelman vanishes one day, Q follows the clues she’s left behind for him.  The clues take him to usual and unusual places from near and far, and although he was low-key obsessed, we admire his perseverance and undying affection for Margo. Perfect for any dedicated Hufflepuff!

 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval

Hufflepuffs, we know you all are notorious for finding things. But what about finding people? Caraval takes it to that level when Scarlett’s sister is whisked away by a mysterious magician, leaving Scarlett to play the magical game of Caraval to find her. #TeamHufflepuff

 

Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler may not seem like a dedicated, hard-working Hufflepuff from the start – she’s dropped out of high school, is doubting her father’s funeral business visions, and is trying to process her grief in the wake of the suicide of the first boy she’d told she loved. But when she gets involved with her father’s business, it turns out she is pretty capable of taking charge of planning an event herself – and just might be coping after all.

 

If you’re a SLYTHERIN

 

 

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Adelina Amouteru is a Slytherin in every sense of the word. The survivor of the blood fever that swept through her nation and decimated its people, Adelina may possess more than just scars. Some believe these survivors – the “Young Elites” – have mysterious and powerful gifts. Adelina’s powers may be like none anyone has ever seen, and soon it becomes obvious that they shouldn’t belong in this world. But she is cunning and power-hungry, and filled with a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her. Yeah, definitely Slytherin.

 

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince

Slytherins, behold your new king. His name is Cardan and he is as cruel as they come and Slytherin as can be.

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Forest PB cover

We’ve got a queen for you too, Slytherins. Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is destined to be Empress of Feng Lu – if she only embraces the darkness within her. Xifeng will go to great lengths to get to the top, just like any power-hungry Slytherin might do.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from the feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, sin-eaters who are indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts at a great cost to their own health. We think he could join the ranks (and bookshelves!) of some of the greatest, most resourceful, and ambitious Slytherins.

 

Hogwarts letter still hasn’t arrived? Check out these 7 fictional schools to enroll in instead!

#ShelfGoals

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxed sets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP