Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Burden Falls by Kat Ellis

SHARE

Riverdale meets Stephen King in Burden Falls, the terrifying new thriller from the author of Harrow Lake!

From its creepy town mascot to the story of its cursed waterfall, Burden Falls is a small town dripping with superstition. Ava Thorn knows this well—since the horrific accident she witnessed a year ago, she’s been plagued by nightmares. But when someone close to her is brutally murdered and Ava is the primary suspect, she starts to wonder if the legends surrounding the town are more fact than fiction. Whatever secrets Burden Falls is hiding, there’s a killer on the loose, and they have a vendetta against the Thorns.

Scroll down to read an excerpt and see the cover!

BurdenFalls_CV.indd

Cover art and design by Elaine C. Damasco: @mamaobscura (Twitter & IG)

 

At around one a.m. something shrieks upstairs in the rafters of the mill, jolting me awake. For a second, I have no idea where I am, or what the screaming was, but it slowly clicks into place.

I’m at the cottage. There’s no ax murder being carried out nearby. It’s just a barn owl—probably the same one I used to see around the manor grounds sometimes.

And my parents are still gone.

I let out a choked sound, trying not to let it turn into outright sobbing. Gradually, my breathing evens out. A screeching owl is as familiar to me as the creaking floorboards of my old home, or the random cold spots that seemed to spring from nowhere in the manor—those little things that might give my heart a quick jolt, but are nothing sinister, really, even if Mom would always arch a knowing eyebrow and declare the place haunted. But she’d grown up listening to the superstitious rumors about Burden Falls. I’ve lived in the manor my whole life, and its creaks and mutterings—and, yes, occasional screeches—are just part of its charm.

Looks like the old mill has charm too.

I drag myself out of bed and climb the rickety ladder up to the floor above mine. The light from my phone casts eerie shadows as I shine it around the loft space, but the damn bird is nowhere to be seen. Everything is silent and still.

My foot lands on something crunchy. I recoil, thinking it must be a cockroach, but it’s actually an owl pellet.

Owl pellets are what the owl pukes up after it’s eaten some small creature. It usually contains all the bits it has no use for—bones, fur, that kind of stuff. This pellet is old, dried to a white crust, and where it’s crumbled apart under my foot I see a perfect little skeleton. I lean closer, shining my light on it. I think it’s a mouse at first, but then I notice the teeth. They’re pointed, with elongated fangs. Must be a weasel or something.

It’s pretty cool, though. Or it would be if finding it hadn’t involved getting dried owl puke between my toes. I’ll come back in the morning and see if I can clean up the bones. Might look good on my windowsill.

After dealing with the foot mess, I go back to my room. I know I won’t sleep, though. I’m too on edge. Instead, I sit at my desk, doodling on a sketchpad. But my gaze keeps getting drawn back to the window, and the silvery line of the river winding north to the waterfall, and Burden Bridge, and the manor.

Home.

Except it’s not home anymore. No lights shine from the manor house. It’s barely a smudge against the distant landscape. For a moment, I swear I see something on Burden Bridge; it’s only a speck from this far away, but I think there’s someone crossing the bridge, heading toward the manor. I lean closer, my breath lightly misting the window.

Is it her?

I reach up to clear it with my sleeve, but the figure is gone.

 

Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

Looking for more creepy reads? Click here to read the chilling first chapter of Our Last Echoes

#Newsyoucanuse

Every book hitting shelves in May 2021!

You MAY or MAY not be ready for these May reads. Here’s what’s hitting shelves!   5/4: Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee – From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.   5/4: That Was Then, … Continued
See More

Join us for Penguin Teen Book Fest!

You’re invited! Join us March 18-20 for the virtual Penguin Teen Book Fest for a bookish celebration filled with author chats, giveaways, games, and prizes. Check out the schedule below for all the details!   THURSDAY, 3/18   6PM EST Join us for an Instagram Live with Ayana Gray, author of Beasts of Prey on Thursday, March 18th … Continued
See More

February 2021 Books: here’s what’s hitting shelves!

February is coming in with some HIGHLY-anticipated reads, and we’re here to tell you what to add to that TBR list ASAP!   2/2: A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen – For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial … Continued
See More

Join Penguin Teen at #YALLWest 2021!

We are SO ready for the virtual #YALLWest festival and all the giveaways, panels, and fun it entails! Scroll down to see what’s happening at the Penguin Teen virtual booth.   Events & Panels Saturday, 4/17 9am PST / 12pm EST Join authors Olivia Abtahi, Renée Ahdieh, Isaac Fitzsimons, Austin Siegemund-Broka, and Emily Wibberley for … Continued
See More

Books Hitting Shelves in March 2021!

Prepare your TBRs! March is bringing in some HIGHLY-anticipated reads. Here’s what’s about to hit shelves!   3/2: The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The Queen’s Assassin, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black.   3/2: Singled Out by Andrew … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: So, This Is Christmas

Already missing the holiday season? We’re here with some exciting news and a holiday read to look forward to…from an actual Hallmark movie screenwriter! Yep, Tracy Andreen has written a few beloved holiday classics, including the Penguin Teen favorite The Spirit of Christmas (time-traveling hot ghost learns to love again – WATCH IT!) Sarah Dessen … Continued
See More

The Mysterious Case of the Hollow Sisters

There’s something strange about the Hollow sisters. Get ready to dive into the twisty and mysterious unsolved case of the Hollow sisters in Krystal Sutherland’s House of Hollow!   Who are the Hollow sisters?  Prepare yourself to meet Grey, Vivi, and Iris. Three sisters who mysteriously vanished on a quiet street in Scotland, and reappeared one … Continued
See More

TBR Check: make sure these romance reads are on your radar!

There are so many sweet romances hitting shelves this year, and we want to make sure you don’t miss a single one! Scroll down for just a few of our highly-anticipated swoony reads coming this year.   The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – Coming March 2! From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la … Continued
See More

Books hitting shelves this April!

From the return of our fav romcom couple to one of 2021’s most anticipated fantasy novels, here are the books hitting shelves this April!   4/6: House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland – A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Passing Playbook

You know those books that you LOVE! The books that you’d ride or die for and will spend the rest of your days telling everyone you ever meet to just READ IT. Well, Isaac Fitzsimon’s The Passing Playbook is about to join those ranks of BELOVED reads. With fans including Becky Albertalli, Kacen Callender, Adib Khorram, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP