Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Burden Falls by Kat Ellis

SHARE

Riverdale meets Stephen King in Burden Falls, the terrifying new thriller from the author of Harrow Lake!

From its creepy town mascot to the story of its cursed waterfall, Burden Falls is a small town dripping with superstition. Ava Thorn knows this well—since the horrific accident she witnessed a year ago, she’s been plagued by nightmares. But when someone close to her is brutally murdered and Ava is the primary suspect, she starts to wonder if the legends surrounding the town are more fact than fiction. Whatever secrets Burden Falls is hiding, there’s a killer on the loose, and they have a vendetta against the Thorns.

Scroll down to read an excerpt and see the cover!

BurdenFalls_CV.indd

Cover art and design by Elaine C. Damasco: @mamaobscura (Twitter & IG)

 

At around one a.m. something shrieks upstairs in the rafters of the mill, jolting me awake. For a second, I have no idea where I am, or what the screaming was, but it slowly clicks into place.

I’m at the cottage. There’s no ax murder being carried out nearby. It’s just a barn owl—probably the same one I used to see around the manor grounds sometimes.

And my parents are still gone.

I let out a choked sound, trying not to let it turn into outright sobbing. Gradually, my breathing evens out. A screeching owl is as familiar to me as the creaking floorboards of my old home, or the random cold spots that seemed to spring from nowhere in the manor—those little things that might give my heart a quick jolt, but are nothing sinister, really, even if Mom would always arch a knowing eyebrow and declare the place haunted. But she’d grown up listening to the superstitious rumors about Burden Falls. I’ve lived in the manor my whole life, and its creaks and mutterings—and, yes, occasional screeches—are just part of its charm.

Looks like the old mill has charm too.

I drag myself out of bed and climb the rickety ladder up to the floor above mine. The light from my phone casts eerie shadows as I shine it around the loft space, but the damn bird is nowhere to be seen. Everything is silent and still.

My foot lands on something crunchy. I recoil, thinking it must be a cockroach, but it’s actually an owl pellet.

Owl pellets are what the owl pukes up after it’s eaten some small creature. It usually contains all the bits it has no use for—bones, fur, that kind of stuff. This pellet is old, dried to a white crust, and where it’s crumbled apart under my foot I see a perfect little skeleton. I lean closer, shining my light on it. I think it’s a mouse at first, but then I notice the teeth. They’re pointed, with elongated fangs. Must be a weasel or something.

It’s pretty cool, though. Or it would be if finding it hadn’t involved getting dried owl puke between my toes. I’ll come back in the morning and see if I can clean up the bones. Might look good on my windowsill.

After dealing with the foot mess, I go back to my room. I know I won’t sleep, though. I’m too on edge. Instead, I sit at my desk, doodling on a sketchpad. But my gaze keeps getting drawn back to the window, and the silvery line of the river winding north to the waterfall, and Burden Bridge, and the manor.

Home.

Except it’s not home anymore. No lights shine from the manor house. It’s barely a smudge against the distant landscape. For a moment, I swear I see something on Burden Bridge; it’s only a speck from this far away, but I think there’s someone crossing the bridge, heading toward the manor. I lean closer, my breath lightly misting the window.

Is it her?

I reach up to clear it with my sleeve, but the figure is gone.

 

Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

Looking for more creepy reads? Click here to read the chilling first chapter of Our Last Echoes

#Newsyoucanuse

HOW IT ALL BLEW UP has a new paperback cover!

How It All Blew Up by Arvin Ahmadi is back with a beautiful new paperback cover! But just in case you’re new to this amazing book: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in this incisive look at identity and what it means to find yourself by running away. Illustrator: Maggie Edkins Willis (@maggiemadethis) Designer: Maria … Continued
See More

June 2021 book preview: here’s what’s coming to shelves!

Prepare yours(h)elves! June 2021 books are coming, and our TBRs will never be the same.   6/1: We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – A poignant and uplifting novel about the power of community, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay.   6/1: Skate for Your Live by Leo Baker – In this moving, personal … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in May 2021!

You MAY or MAY not be ready for these May reads. Here’s what’s hitting shelves!   5/4: Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee – From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.   5/4: That Was Then, … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: RIGHT WHERE I LEFT YOU by Julian Winters

Need a cover reveal with a healthy dose of joy to start off your week? Get ready for your hearts to melt with Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters! We’re already swooning over this upcoming friends-to-lovers romance starring best friends Isaac and Diego. This love story has everything you need: Black boy joy, … Continued
See More

The story’s not over. Here are 2021’s most HIGHLY-anticipated YA sequels!

2021 is packed with gorgeous debuts, thrilling stand-alones, and of course…highly-anticipated sequels! Scroll down for a peek at a few stories we are so grateful aren’t over yet!   Sequels you can grab now… The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The … Continued
See More

Join Penguin Teen at #YALLWest 2021!

We are SO ready for the virtual #YALLWest festival and all the giveaways, panels, and fun it entails! Scroll down to see what’s happening at the Penguin Teen virtual booth.   Events & Panels Saturday, 4/17 9am PST / 12pm EST Join authors Olivia Abtahi, Renée Ahdieh, Isaac Fitzsimons, Austin Siegemund-Broka, and Emily Wibberley for … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes!

We’re so excited to reveal the cover for Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes. This thrilling fantasy follows a snarky seventeen-year-old who must team up with an enigmatic criminal to cure herself of dangerous forbidden magic in the first book of a new duology from the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series! Scroll down to … Continued
See More

See the cover for Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

Cover reveal! Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt of Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions. For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Navdeep Singh Dhillon’s debut is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Scroll down to start reading! Designer: Jessica Jenkins (IG: gorjessdesign; TWITTER: … Continued
See More

Olivia Rodrigo’s SOUR is here and we’ve got your ultimate track match

The breakout album of 2021 needs the ultimate Book Track Match and for Olivia Rodrigo’s SOUR, the almost diary like journey through her heartbreak due to a recent breakup. With a mix of rock bangers and emotional ballads, this is the perfect album to scream your heart out to or roll the car windows down … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AND WE RISE

See the cover and read an excerpt of And We Rise by Erica Martin, a powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with historical photos interspersed throughout. Scroll down to start reading! Jacket designer: Theresa Evangelista Illustrator: Adriana Bellet (@jeezvanilla)   It’s 1877 when   Jim Crow laws … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP