Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SUCCEED IN WITCHCRAFT by Aislinn Brophy

SHARE

Cover reveal time! An overachieving teen witch vies for a prestigious scholarship at her elite high school in this contemporary YA fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch. 

Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted…

Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. Now that she’s a junior at T.K. Anderson Magical Magnet School, she’s one step closer to winning the full-ride Brockton Scholarship—her ticket into the university of her dreams. Her main competition? Ana freaking Álvarez. The key to victory? Impressing Mr. B, drama teacher and head of the scholarship committee.

When Mr. B persuades Shay to star in this year’s aggressively inclusive, racially diverse musicalat their not-quite-diverse school—she agrees, wearily, even though she’ll have to put up with Ana playing the other lead. But with rehearsals underway, Shay realizes Ana is…not the despicable witch she’d thought. Perhaps she could even be a friend—or more. And Shay could use someone in her corner once she finds herself on the receiving end of Mr. B’s unpleasant and unwanted attention. When Shay learns she’s not the first witch to experience his inappropriate behavior, she must decide if she’ll come forward. But how can she speak out when the scholarship—and her future—are on the line?

Scroll down to see the cover for How to Succeed in Witchcraft and read a sneak peek!

 

Witchcraft_CoverReveal_KSB.indd

Cover designer: Danielle Ceccolini

Artist: Alex Cabal 

 

After school, I stand in the pickup area, waiting for Lex to pick me up. I’m itching to talk to her about my conversation with Mr. B. I looked up the musical he mentioned—Bronxtown Brooms. It’s a retelling of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice set in a mostly Latinx neighborhood in New York City in the nineties. Based on what I read about the show, I’m 98 percent sure now that Mr. B was trying to talk about race without talking about race. Also, he might think I’m Latina. So that’s a major factor in the Reasons Not to Audition for This Musical list.

On the other hand, there’s the whole “wink, wink, nudge, nudge, audition for this show and I’ll consider you for the scholarship” thing. Which, now that I’ve had some time to think about it, I’m not sure it was as shady as I initially thought. It’s not like he promised to give me the scholarship. This is just one more opportunity to impress him.

Lex’s blue car flies up to the curb, then settles gracefully onto the ground. Her car is painfully nice compared to the one my family has. It has that new aerodynamic bullet shape, and the propulsion engines at the front and back are near silent. I ache with jealousy every time I see it.

“Hey girl hey!” Lex screams through the open passenger window. Her aggressive EDM blasts out into the parking lot, and she dances in her seat, waving her arms wildly toward me. The few people in the parking lot turn to see who this screaming girl is, which is a common side effect of hanging out with Lex. “You look tired!”

I hit a pose with my hands framing my face. “I am.”

“She is beauty, she is grace!” Lex yells. “She is late for work! Get in the car.”

“You’re the one who’s late,” I yell. Once I’m settled in the passenger seat, I turn off her music so we can talk. “I’ve been waiting for you since I left potions club.”

She hands me a Starbucks latte and steps on the accelerator. The car glides away from the curb, lifting smoothly into the air as we go. “I stopped for coffee.”

“Of course you did.” I throw her a withering look before sipping my latte. Mm. Not as good as Mom’s, but still necessary to get me through the rest of this day.

“Hey, we deserve it today. We have to finish filling all the weekend orders before we leave tonight.” She stomps on the accelerator and sends the car flying onto the floating road. We glide upward, following the road over the swamp outside the school property.

Her car really is an incredibly fancy piece of magitech. It glides effortlessly through the air. My dream is to buy my parents a car this nice one day.

“How was your day, lady?” Lex asks.

“It was . . . a lot.”

“What did Ana do this time?”

“Plenty of annoying ish, but that’s not what I want to talk about.”

I’ve always been able to tell Lex anything. She was the first one I came out to—the only person at our school I bothered to tell I was a lesbian. She’s easy to talk to, but not because she’s the type who listens quietly. It’s because she’s aggressively supportive. Emphasis on aggressively.

“What the hell!” she yells once I finish filling her in on my day. “I knew that the Brockton Scholarship was kind of about favoritism a lot of the time, but that’s so shady.”

“I don’t think it was that bad,” I say.

“What?” she says. “You literally just described, like, some weird, backdoor bullshit.”

“No—I mean—” I sigh and fidget with my hands in my lap for a few seconds. “I was just saying that’s what I thought at first. I’m pretty sure I read too much into it. He didn’t actually say he would give me the scholarship if I auditioned for the show.”

“He doesn’t have to say that. He totally knows that everyone is desperate to do stuff for him.” Lex shakes her head, wrinkling up her nose like she smells something bad. “Plus, there’s no way he doesn’t know that you and Ana are the top picks for Brockton Scholar. You would be, like, the most desperate to do whatever he wants.”

 

 

Preorder your copy here

#WhatsTrending

Heartstopper has landed on Netflix, and we’ve got your ultimate character book match!

If your heart stopped while watching Heartstopper on Netflix, we’re here to help you recover! Like leaves from a cool fall breeze, Heartstopper swept us off our feet with its themes of friendship, queer joy, mental health awareness, and found family. Welcome to your Ultimate Character Book Match for what we think the main characters of … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: A SCATTER OF LIGHT by Malinda Lo

Today we’re revealing the cover for Malinda Lo’s A Scatter of Light–AND giving you a sneak peek interview with the author! Award-winning author Malinda Lo returns to the Bay Area with another masterful coming-of-queer-age story, this time set against the backdrop of the first major Supreme Court decisions legalizing gay marriage. And almost sixty years after … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: EIGHT NIGHTS OF FLIRTING by Hannah Reynolds

Cover reveal time! A sixteen-year-old girl is on a mission to find the perfect boyfriend this Hanukkah, but love might not go according to plan, in this charming winter romcom from the author of The Summer of Lost Letters. Shira Barbanel has a plan: this Hanukkah, she’s going to get a boyfriend. And she has the … Continued
See More

Non-Fiction YA Books Everyone Should Read

We love escaping into a fantasy world, but also love a good read to pull us back down to earth. Here’s a stack of non-fiction YA books everyone should have on their shelf!   Cramm This Book by Olivia Seltzer  From the founder of The Cramm, a news outlet by and for the incredible Gen Z … Continued
See More

Top Tier Tropes (and Reads to Go With Them!)

Whether you can’t resist a good chosen one trope, or enemies-to-lovers is your jam, we’ve got reads for all your top tier YA tropes! Scroll down to start stacking your TBR!   Love Decoded by Jennifer Yen A hilarious, heartfelt rom-com about the unexpected consequences of one teen’s quest to help her friends find love, perfect … Continued
See More

Read an sneak peek of REMEMBER ME GONE

Lucy Miller’s family has the unique ability to remove people’s painful memories—but Lucy isn’t prepared for truths she will uncover in this twisty speculative thriller, perfect for fans of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  People come from everywhere to forget. At the Memory House, in Tumble Tree, Texas, Lucy’s father can literally erase folks’ heartache … Continued
See More

Everything we know about the TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN movie adaptation

We are so excited that one of our favorite John Green novels Turtles All the Way Down is on its way to our screens! Here’s everything we know about the adaptation so far.   1. Hannah Marks is directing Actress-turned-director Hannah Marks is helming from a script by Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger, best known for co-showrunning This … Continued
See More

Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day!

Games, panels, and giveaways, oh my! Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day on March 26th, and scroll down to begin registering for events!   EVENTS Join Penguin Teen authors Ayana Gray (Beasts of Prey), David Arnold (The Electric Kingdom), Kristin Cashore (Winterkeep), and Krystal Sutherland (House of Hollow) for a panel on the shocking … Continued
See More

YA Books to read while you wait for Stranger Things season 4!

If you just watched the Stranger Things season 4 trailer 35 times like us, you might be counting down the days until May 27th when Netflix releases it. And we know waiting is hard, so here are 9 books with definite Stranger Things vibes to read while you wait!   1. The Electric Kingdom by David … Continued
See More

YA books and what they were *ALMOST* called!

Did you know some YA books change title before going to publication? Here are 6 books that did!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman Original title: The Players’ Table Fun fact: this will actually be the title of the TV adaptation currently in development!   Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray Original title: The … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP