Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: The Moth Girl

SHARE

Cover reveal time! The Moth Girl by Heather Kamins follows the story of Anna. She runs track with her best friend, gets good grades, and sometimes drinks beer at parties.
But one day at track practice, Anna falls unconscious . . . but instead of falling down, she falls up, defying gravity in the disturbing first symptom of a mysterious disease.

This begins a series of trips to the hospital that soon become Anna’s norm. She’s diagnosed with lepidopsy: a rare illness that causes symptoms reminiscent of moths: floating, attraction to light, a craving for sugar, and for an unlucky few, more dangerous physical manifestations.

Anna’s world is turned upside down, and as she learns to cope with her illness, she finds herself drifting further and further away from her former life. Her friends don’t seem to understand, running track is out of the question, and the other kids at the disease clinic she attends once a week are a cruel reminder that things will never be the same.

Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt!

9780803739260_NearlyGone_JKT.indd

Cover design: Kristin Boyle

Illustrator: Hsiao Ron Cheng

 

By the beginning of October, cross-country practice was excruciating. Smilla and my parents were asking more frequently if I was okay, and my lies were becoming less convincing. I made up some excuses for Coach Antee about pulled muscles and twisted ankles, and it was a huge relief when all he did was give me a lecture about following his guidance and have the trainer tape up my ankles.

I kept forcing myself to go to practice, though now I was consistently at the back of the pack. So I mostly found myself alone as I ran, trying to focus on my surroundings instead of the pain.

On one chilly afternoon, the aches were especially bad, and they kept growing. And there was something else, too, something new. My feet felt uneasy, foreign, as though the arches were twisting, the muscle memory of running fading from my body. My toes curled the wrong way; my heels flexed. I felt the shock of the ground each time one of my feet landed, and though I tried to control my stride and keep it tight, I found myself bouncing much more than I meant to between steps. My feet searched for the ground, but it was like walking on the moon, my skittering skips not quite in my control.

Before long, the pain began to rise from my toes, fizzing upward through my legs like bubbles through a soda straw. I stumbled forward, trying to shake it off, but it kept growing. It singed me from the depths of my tendons and bones, all the way out to my skin. It traveled through my ankles and calves, my knees and thighs, and as it overtook my waist, it felled me like an old tree. I remember falling, a slow, endless descent in some direction I couldn’t name, but I have no memory of hitting the ground.

***

I was moving through space in an unsettling way, twirling and fl ailing, my arms and legs reaching out for something solid but finding nothing. There was noise, somebody shouting my name, and a blur of branches and fallen leaves as I whipped my head around, trying to return to consciousness and orient myself. It grew hard to breathe, and I became dizzy, and then the sensation came back to me, that tearing pain through my lower legs, its tendrils constricting around my muscles. I tried to cry out, but no sound came. Faces appeared around me, and then there were hands holding my arms and legs, straightening me out.

Still dizzy, I finally brought the scene around me into focus. I was upright, and Coach Antee was standing in front of me, his hands on my shoulders. I had never seen him look worried like that, even when other kids on the team had been injured. A small crowd of my teammates gathered around us, and Coach called out for them to stand back and give me room. They did, all but Smilla, who pushed closer, coming up to one side of me and taking my left arm so that Coach could take my right. The two of them held me steady as I took one harrowing step after another through the woods and back out onto the field.

Jennie, ever the helper, sprinted over to us just as Coach and Smilla were settling me onto the bench by the soccer field. “I called her mom,” Jennie told Coach, setting down my backpack, which she must have retrieved from the locker room. “She said she’ll be here in ten.” The concern on Jennie’s face was unsettling, and I looked away.

“All right, everybody, back to the track. Do relays until I get there,” he said, and everyone but Smilla jogged away, casting a few glances over their shoulders at me.

The sharp pain in my legs had subsided to a low, persistent throbbing, and I felt shaky and weak all over. “Are you okay?” Smilla asked, even though we both knew I wasn’t. She sat next to me. “What happened?”

“I-I don’t know.” It was still hard to get enough air into my lungs to push out words. “My legs started hurting, and”—I took a deep breath—“I just passed out, I guess.”

She swallowed, as if scared to say what was on her mind. “You know you weren’t . . . on the ground, right?”

“What?” I tried to make sense of what she was saying, to stitch it together with my own experience.

Her face looked pained, as if about to break the news that a loved one had died. “You were floating.”

“Floating.”

She nodded and reached one hand out in front of her, holding it three feet above the ground. “About this high.”

 

Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

Ready for July reads? Click here to see what’s hitting shelves!

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: FURYSONG by Rosaria Munda

The finale is coming! Furysong is the third and final book in the Fireborne Trilogy. In this explosive conclusion to the epic story that began with Fireborne, Annie and Lee are fighting for their lives—and for each other—as invading dragonfire threatens to burn their home to the ground. A new revolution is underway, and nobody will emerge unscathed. In … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BREAK THIS HOUSE by Candice Iloh

From Printz honoree and National Book Award Finalist Candice Iloh, a prose novel about a teenager reckoning with her family’s–and her home town’s–secrets. Coming to shelves May 24, 2022! Yaminah Okar left Obsidian and the wreckage of her family years ago. She and her father have made lives for themselves in Brooklyn. She thinks she’s … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE EDGE OF BEING by James Brandon

The Edge of Being by James Brandon is a tender and heartfelt queer YA novel about the multiplicities of grief, deeply held family secrets, and finding new love. Isaac Griffin has always felt something was missing from his life. And for good reason: he’s never met his dad. He’d started to believe he’d never belong in this … Continued
See More

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!   Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming … Continued
See More

Read a sneak peek of THE BONE SPINDLE by Leslie Vedder!

Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SURVIVE YOUR MURDER by Danielle Valentine

Cover reveal time! Scream meets Happy Death Day in How to Survive Your Murder, coming to shelves August 30, 2022! Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial. And in the year since Claire’s death, Alice’s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, she’s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers

The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass is a charming YA rom-com perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and What If It’s Us, coming September 20th, 2022! Micah Summers runs a popular Instagram full of drawings of his numerous imaginary boyfriends (ninety-nine so far)—though he’s never had a real boyfriend before. But when a meet-cute with … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE DEPTHS by Nicole Lesperance

A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next. Prepare for Nicole Lesperance’s stunning novel, The Depths, coming to shelves October 4, 2022! Eulalie Island should be a paradise, but to Addie Spencer, it’s more like a prison. Forced to tag along to the … Continued
See More

8 Winter reads (and where to read them)

Winter is the best time to be a reader–it’s the perfect excuse to stay in, get cozy, and read! Here are some of our favorite wintery picks for your TBR this season (AND the perfect places to read them in!)   About the book: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP