Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Three reads perfect for the ladies of The Bold Type

SHARE

If you haven’t been watching Freeform’s The Bold Type, then you are missing out! Three young women at the beginning of their careers taking on the workforce, New York city, life and love drama. Basically, it’s our JAM!

The leading trio definitely have a WHOLE lot of personality so we picked three great reads for Jane, Kat and Sutton – now you just need to decide to which Bold Type you are!

 

Jane

BooksforJaneBoldType

Sweet Jane isn’t as naïve as she’s sometimes perceived. She’s got a drive and fire to succeed and while her A type, over analysis of situations can sometimes give her pause – Jane’s taking two steps forward more often than she’s taking one step back.

If you’re a Jane, you’re totally there for your best friends, so Undead Girl Gang is the perfect read for female friendships. Jane’s curiosity is part of what makes her a great journalist, and Zoe has the same nose of the truth in the mystery series Trouble is a Friend of Mine. Jane’s also got her romance dramas including her on/off relationship with Pinstripe in which the two reluctantly work together first. Reminds us a little of June and Day in the Legend series!

 

Sutton

BooksforSuttonBoldType

Rags to fashion department riches Sutton is determined to overcome the rumors about her rise to the top as well as her impoverished background. She’s going for her head but sometimes her heart gets in the way and she can’t ignore the men in her life!

If Bold Type Sutton’s your girl, then The Dark Days Club series featuring Lady Helen Wrexhal will speak to you, what with Lady Helen forced to choose between saving her reputation or saving the world. Much like Sutton’s crossing the lines from being assistant to the fashion team, Mariko trades places and joins the Black Clan in the Flame in the Mist. And of course, The Fashion Committee is perfect, because just like Sutton, Charlie is fashion obsessed and both are just trying to make their dreams come true.

 

Kat

BooksforKatTheBoldType

Fiercely independent and leap before you look kinda a girl, Kat is living her best life and open to all the experiences the world has to off, from travel to love, food to friendship – Kat will try it all!

If Kat’s desire to showcase injustice to the world resonates with you, try Blood Water Paint – the story inspired by one the first women in history to have her assault case documented as it went to court. Kat’s bravery often masks her ability to examine her own relationships, something Marin struggles with in We Are Okay. When you’re amazing at your job like Kat is, you’re going to love Odessa from Reign of the Fallen – who is here to WORK and get the job done.

 

#WhatsTrending

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next! In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read… The Kingdom of Back by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Sibling Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 8 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   1. I’ll Give You the … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

This Spell Can’t Last by Isabel Sterling is coming!

Exciting prequel news! If you fell under Isabel Sterling’s spell in These Witches Don’t Burn and are already highly anticipating This Coven Won’t Break this May, prepare yourself. Author Isabel Sterling has a prequel e-novella up her sleeves! Get ready for This Spell Can’t Last (omg that title, right?!) Hannah and Veronica battle a Blood Witch in the thrilling, heartbreaking e-novella prequel to These … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

Frankly in Love paperback cover reveal

It was one of our favorites last year and so many of you also loved David Yoon’s Frankly in Love! Well prepare to fall in the love the paperback cover! With Frank, Britt and Joy all on the cover, this new illustrated look REALLY brings to life the characters. This new paperback cover will hit … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More

Waiting for Witcher Season 2? Here’s what you should read

Did you binge your way through The Witcher (once, maybe twice…) on Netflix? Over at Penguin Teen, we couldn’t get enough of Geralt of Rivia, Yennefer of Vengerberg, and the engrossing fantasy world they live in. If you’re as eager for season two as we are (and impatiently waiting for them to start on production again), … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP