Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books That Will Make You Want to Reconnect With Someone

SHARE

Nina LaCour’s latest novel, We Are Okay has really made us think. Don’t we all have someone in our lives that somehow we’ve lost touch with? We Are Okay is the story of two friends, bridging the gap from California to New York, and everything that got lost in between. In addition to inspiring us to reach out to friends we’ve lost touch with, We Are Okay also made us think about the other stories we’ve read and loved about reopening the lines of communication and and coming together.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind—no one knows the truth, not even her best friend Mabel. But even after moving across the country, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, Mabel is coming to visit and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

 At first, Jude and her twin brother are inseparable. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways. The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world.

 

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim  is dragged from her Ohio home to live with her dad and new stepmom. Almost immediately, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland, so she ditches her new life and hops on a bus to see her mother. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few wrong turns, Mim must confront her own demons.

 

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

In I Was Here, Cody tries to understand the death of her best friend Meg, who suddenly took her own life. Meg’s suicide comes as a shock to Cody, who thought she knew her better than anyone. When Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings her best friend left behind, she quickly learns that there was so much more to Meg’s story than she ever knew.

 

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

When Sydney’s older brother Peyton is is sent to jail for drunk driving, Sydney feels lost and invisible. But through her new friendship with the eccentric and welcoming Chatham family she’ll begin to heal as she finds friendship, love, and herself.

 

Fire Color One by Jenny Valentine

Iris is sent away from London to live with her estranged (and dying) father as part of her mother’s greedy scheme. But once she meets her father, everything she thought she knew about the man she was raised to hate goes up in smoke.

 

 

 

Start reading We Are Okay here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP