Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 YA Villains More Terrifying Than Whatever’s Hiding in Your Closet

SHARE

If there’s any reason you should have a nightlight, this is it. Read on for the creepiest, most cold-blooded, most vicious, and overall scariest characters on our YA villain roster that will destroy your ability to sleep through the night…

 

The Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes

ember

It’s a tad bit distressing when the most powerful, ruthless, and cruelest woman in the Empire is the head of your training academy AND your own mother.

 

Colonel Vosch from The 5th Wave

It’s a given that you can’t trust the aliens that are taking over the planet, but things get tricky when you can’t trust your fellow humans either…especially the ones who claim they’re leading the fight against earth’s invaders. Find out for yourself if he comes back in the sequel, The Infinite Sea.

 

Marcus from Half Bad

Half Bad

In modern-day England, there are good witches and there are bad witches…but Nathaniel is both, and what’s more – his father is the cruelest, most hated witch of all. And the darkness continues in Half Wild!

 

Whatever is killing underground ravers in Survive the Night

Casey gets dragged along to an underground rave in the subway system of NYC called Survive the Night where she’ll be lucky to do just that – because during the party, mutilated bodies start showing up in the tunnels.

 

Adelina from The Young Elites

The Young Elites pb

Sometimes the scariest thing to watch is a heroine slowly becoming a villain as the darkness inside takes over. And we’ll see if she becomes consumed when The Rose Society comes out October 13th!

 

Marcus from A Book of Spirits and Thieves

a book of spirits and thieves

Evil has an extended reach when a murderer thinks he’s killing for the sake of good and has convinced his followers that he’s right.

Ophiuchus from Zodiac

When it turns out an immortal legend is actually real and is out to seek vengeance, the first obstacle in saving your people is convincing them to start believing what they thought was a myth.

 

The Others from Nightfall

What if sunrise only came every 28 years? Like generations past, Marin’s island is sailing south to wait out the long night – but this time she gets left behind. What she’ll find is that in their absence, what lives in the dark is deadly…and wants her people gone.

 

The girls from The Merciless 

You thought you knew the meaning of “mean girls.” You were wrong.

 

 

Looking for more chills? Try these scary books that prove you should be afraid of the dark!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP