Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 YA Villains More Terrifying Than Whatever’s Hiding in Your Closet

SHARE

If there’s any reason you should have a nightlight, this is it. Read on for the creepiest, most cold-blooded, most vicious, and overall scariest characters on our YA villain roster that will destroy your ability to sleep through the night…

 

The Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes

ember

It’s a tad bit distressing when the most powerful, ruthless, and cruelest woman in the Empire is the head of your training academy AND your own mother.

 

Colonel Vosch from The 5th Wave

It’s a given that you can’t trust the aliens that are taking over the planet, but things get tricky when you can’t trust your fellow humans either…especially the ones who claim they’re leading the fight against earth’s invaders. Find out for yourself if he comes back in the sequel, The Infinite Sea.

 

Marcus from Half Bad

Half Bad

In modern-day England, there are good witches and there are bad witches…but Nathaniel is both, and what’s more – his father is the cruelest, most hated witch of all. And the darkness continues in Half Wild!

 

Whatever is killing underground ravers in Survive the Night

Casey gets dragged along to an underground rave in the subway system of NYC called Survive the Night where she’ll be lucky to do just that – because during the party, mutilated bodies start showing up in the tunnels.

 

Adelina from The Young Elites

The Young Elites pb

Sometimes the scariest thing to watch is a heroine slowly becoming a villain as the darkness inside takes over. And we’ll see if she becomes consumed when The Rose Society comes out October 13th!

 

Marcus from A Book of Spirits and Thieves

a book of spirits and thieves

Evil has an extended reach when a murderer thinks he’s killing for the sake of good and has convinced his followers that he’s right.

Ophiuchus from Zodiac

When it turns out an immortal legend is actually real and is out to seek vengeance, the first obstacle in saving your people is convincing them to start believing what they thought was a myth.

 

The Others from Nightfall

What if sunrise only came every 28 years? Like generations past, Marin’s island is sailing south to wait out the long night – but this time she gets left behind. What she’ll find is that in their absence, what lives in the dark is deadly…and wants her people gone.

 

The girls from The Merciless 

You thought you knew the meaning of “mean girls.” You were wrong.

 

 

Looking for more chills? Try these scary books that prove you should be afraid of the dark!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxed sets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP