Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The 10 Types of Crying Every Reader is Familiar With

SHARE

Every once in a while, we all need a good cry. Pent-up emotions need to be released, and any reader will tell you that the best way to open up the floodgates is with the perfect book. From the silent sob to the ugly cry, readers are no stranger to crying because of a really beautiful read. Inspired by Nina LaCour’s upcoming We Are Okay (a total sobfest), read on for ten types of crying every reader has experienced – and a book recommendation for each one!

 

“That was so beautiful” tears

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour: There will be soft, gentle, life affirming tears because this read is lovely and lonely and sad, but hopeful.

 

Ugly sobbing

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys: You will ruin all of your makeup because no one can prepare you for Ruta Sepetys feels.

 

 

Yelling crying

The Last Star by Rick Yancey: You will not cry silently, because this is the end and you just. can’t.

 

 

Gentle weeping

Still Life with Tornado by A. S. King: There will be delicate, gentle tears from this soft and sad reveal.

 

Crying because you remembered that one part

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: You’re going about your life and you remember that one part and you have to read the book again to relive the tears.

 

Crying alone

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: Sometimes you need to take a minute and just cry by yourself for a bit.

 

Crying with a friend

I Was Here by Gayle Forman: Other times you need to share the cry with your BFF.

 

Laughing/Crying

Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer: For all the times that you need to laugh until you cry and then cry a little bit more.

 

Fear Crying

The Merciless by Danielle Vega: Sometimes you need to be so scared that you cry a little.

 

A single tear

Half Lost by Sally Green: A single tear, because the conclusion to this magical trilogy is so satisfying, but so sad.

 

Cry on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ready to start crying? Start with We Are Okay by Nina LaCour!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: The Fall of Innocence

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a gorgeous, haunting, and tragic novel that examines the crippling–and far-reaching–effects of one person’s trauma on her family, her community, and herself. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Emilia searched the sidewalk for the little gifts her birds often left for her, trying not to think of how … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP