Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The 10 Types of Crying Every Reader is Familiar With

SHARE

Every once in a while, we all need a good cry. Pent-up emotions need to be released, and any reader will tell you that the best way to open up the floodgates is with the perfect book. From the silent sob to the ugly cry, readers are no stranger to crying because of a really beautiful read. Inspired by Nina LaCour’s upcoming We Are Okay (a total sobfest), read on for ten types of crying every reader has experienced – and a book recommendation for each one!

 

“That was so beautiful” tears

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour: There will be soft, gentle, life affirming tears because this read is lovely and lonely and sad, but hopeful.

 

Ugly sobbing

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys: You will ruin all of your makeup because no one can prepare you for Ruta Sepetys feels.

 

 

Yelling crying

The Last Star by Rick Yancey: You will not cry silently, because this is the end and you just. can’t.

 

 

Gentle weeping

Still Life with Tornado by A. S. King: There will be delicate, gentle tears from this soft and sad reveal.

 

Crying because you remembered that one part

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: You’re going about your life and you remember that one part and you have to read the book again to relive the tears.

 

Crying alone

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: Sometimes you need to take a minute and just cry by yourself for a bit.

 

Crying with a friend

I Was Here by Gayle Forman: Other times you need to share the cry with your BFF.

 

Laughing/Crying

Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer: For all the times that you need to laugh until you cry and then cry a little bit more.

 

Fear Crying

The Merciless by Danielle Vega: Sometimes you need to be so scared that you cry a little.

 

A single tear

Half Lost by Sally Green: A single tear, because the conclusion to this magical trilogy is so satisfying, but so sad.

 

Cry on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ready to start crying? Start with We Are Okay by Nina LaCour!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Eerie Ireland: a Short Guide for the Magic Realist Visitor

Our resident Irish author, Moïra Fowley-Doyle, author of Spellbook of the Lost and Found and The Accident Season, is a genius when it comes to writing beautiful, creepy, atmospheric stories set in the Irish countryside. We asked her to share her expertise with us, and she bestowed this eerie travel guide to Ireland upon us! Read on for the … Continued
See More

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!   ARIES When warriors of House Aries die, … Continued
See More

11 Bookish Social Media Accounts You NEED to Follow

When you love to read so much, nothing is better than getting a healthy dose of bookish content when you’re browsing social media. Whether you prefer Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, or a combination of them all, there are excellent accounts to follow for all kinds of book content.   BuzzFeed Books: If you love … Continued
See More

The 5 Worst Things for Book Lovers to Lose

We all have those days where we lose things. Keys, pens, earrings…we’ve all been there. But as book lovers, we know there are some essentials that we can’t misplace. We’ve rounded up 5 of the worst think book lovers can lose.   Their library card The library is a magical place. It’s quiet and full … Continued
See More

The Official THE LAKE EFFECT Playlist

Erin McCahan, author of The Lake Effect, created this amazing playlist for her main characters, Briggs Henry and Abigail Howe. The Lake Effect, coming July 11, is a funny, bracing, poignant romance and coming-of-age story for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.   About the … Continued
See More

7 Ideas to Create the Perfect Bookish Wedding

After reading Sarah Dessen’s latest novel, Once and For All we have to admit that we’ve got wedding fever. Whether you’re planning for your wedding right now or just want a head start, you’re going to need to make sure you have everything you need for your bookish-themed wedding. We’ve thought of even the smallest details so … Continued
See More

8 Spells that Book Lovers Need

As readers (and especially as readers of fantasy), we sometimes wish we could add a little magic from some of our favorite books to our everyday life. Because wouldn’t life as a booklover be a little better if you had a few spells to spice things up?   The no spoilers spell So, maybe you’re a slow … Continued
See More

Our 5 Ultimate Favorite Fictional Libraries

  As bookworms, we know that there’s no better place than an awesome library (the books are free, I mean, come on). With that in mind, we’ve rounded up 5 of our favorite fictional libraries. Before you read on, remember to support your libraries by visiting, checking out books, and using the many awesome services … Continued
See More

What’s the One Thing You Couldn’t Live Without if You Were Shipwrecked on an Island?

Inspired by Jessica Taylor’s upcoming A Map for Wrecked Girls, we asked readers the one thing they’d want if stranded on a deserted island. As expected, lots of people said books (duh!), but we had a lot of other creative answers as well!   What’s one thing you couldn’t live without if you were shipwrecked … Continued
See More

Can You Find the Hidden Emojis in These Book Covers?

Test your eyesight by trying to find the emojis hidden in each of these book covers! They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but…if you were intrigued by any of these covers you can read more about each book below! Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton The Valiant by Lesley Livingston The Outsiders … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT