Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Epic YA Books Like Game Of Thrones

SHARE

We know how you feel: Game of Thrones just came back, and after each episode ends you get more and more afraid of our own winter coming: that dark time without Game of Thrones. But don’t worry: like Jon Snow with Dragonglass in hand, we’re prepared to fight off the winter. Except for us, it’s with these 15 epic fantasies that will help us get through until next season!

 

Our Top 15 Books Like Game of Thrones:

 

Looking for some kick-ass ladies?

books like game of thrones

The Young Elites by Marie Lu: Adelina is a heroine descending on a path to villainy.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: Shazi won’t let the fact that Khalid’s brides never make it until morning stop her from seeking revenge.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton: Amani is the greatest myth of the desert – running from her future, gunning for her fate.

 

Maybe you like your kick-ass ladies to come with a great destiny?

books like game of thrones

The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove: Sophia Tamms is on the hunt for her uncle in a world changed by the Great Disruption of 1799, when all the continents were flung into different time periods.

Soundless by Richelle Mead: The people in Fei’s village can’t hear – but everything about her world unravels when she hears a noise for the first time.

Zodiac by Romina Russell: It’s up to Rho to save her people when an exiled Guardian of Zodiac legend comes back seeking revenge.

 

What about fierce battles and daring deeds?

books like game of thrones

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: Laia and Elias are fighting for what they want most in the cruel Martial Empire.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes: A rush of battles, betrayals, and bargains in the kingdoms of ancient Mytica.

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore: Now that Queen Bitterblue has come of age, she’s on the hunt to discover the truth about her father’s reign.

 

Need a touch of magic?

books like game of thrones

The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer: 16-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees must live on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire, where a mix of machines and magic rule.

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes: Modern-day Toronto teen Becca gets transported to ancient Mytica when she happens upon a magical tome.

Obsidian Mirror by Catherine Fisher: The Obsidian Mirror has powers great and terrible, and three people will risk everything to find it – each for a different reason.

 

One word: dragons.

books like game of thrones

Frozen by Melissa de la Cruz: Earth is in an ice age after 99% of the population was wiped out, but that doesn’t stop dragons from showing up.

Eon by Alison Goodman: 12-year-old Eon is training in Dragon Magic and hopes to be chosen as a Dragoneye–an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.

In the Time of the Dragon Moon by Janet Lee Carey: When the mad English queen of the north kidnaps Uma, she turns to the king’s nephew Jackrun, a fiery dragonrider with dragon, fairy, and human blood.

 

 

Looking for more fantasy books like Game of Thrones?

Get recommendations from the authors of your favorite fantasy series!

Discover 10 fantasy books that will make your life infinitely more magical!

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP