Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books to Read if You Love Veronica Mars

SHARE

Veronica Mars seriously has it all: that sunny California setting where everything isn’t as perfect as it seems, the grit of a hardboiled detective story, and, most of all, a tough teen heroine who is always two steps ahead of everyone else. We wish we were HALF as quick with a quip as Veronica. And who wouldn’t want a friend like Wallace to have their back? And let’s be real: we can’t help but love Logan, even if he does drive us crazy.

The bad news is the show only has three seasons (and one movie!) The good news is that we’ve rounded up some captivating page-turners that would keep even Mars Investigations guessing. Read on for 7 of our favorites!

 

Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

When her best friend is found dead in a swimming pool, Jude is determined to prove that it was murder. And as we know from Veronica Mars, sunny California makes the best setting for noir mystery.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Mr. Greyhill is one of Sangui City, Kenya’s most feared criminals. Tina’s mission to avenger her mother’s murder brings her back to into the criminal’s house as a thief. But when she’s caught the breathless intrigue is only just beginning.

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Zoe moves to a new town with one goal: keep her head down until she can get out and go to college. But the annoying and brilliant Digby has other ideas. His investigation of a missing girl is full of hilarity and heart that will be familiar to Marshmallows everywhere.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Veronica Mars would have fit right in with the “truth commission” Normandy Pale and her friends started to unearth the secrets at their school. But when things start leading back to Normandy’s talented older sister, Normandy realizes that some truths are best left hidden.

 

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

Just like Neptune High, Whidbey Island is full of secrets, and Becca’s ability to hear the thoughts of others means she knows more than she should.

 

Shelter by Harlan Corban

After witnessing his father’s death and putting his mother in rehab, Mickey’s having a year that Logan Echolls could relate to. And things get worse when his girlfriend disappears, placing Mickey at the heart of a conspiracy that challenges everything he thought he knew.

 

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

Nearly Boswell just wants to get out of the Washington, DC trailer park she shares with her mom, and a highly competitive scholarship is exactly what she needs. But when a serial killer starts placing cryptic newspaper ads that only Nearly can decipher, she becomes the target of the police…and the murderer. This high stakes thriller will fly by faster than an episode with Neptune’s favorite high school sleuth.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 14 books to read under your desk this year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: Rebelwing

Happy #FridayReads! Did someone say robot dragons?! This week, we’re reading Rebelwing by Andrea Tang. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1   The Drop   The whole mess was a long time coming, but the drama really began when the long, sleek snout of a plasma gun interrupted Pru’s breakfast.   “Good morning,” said Alex, black-eyed gaze intent over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Devil Darling Spy

If you like an edge of thriller in your historical fiction, we’ve got some good news for you. Devil Darling Spy is hitting shelves January 21! This fast-paced follow-up to Orphan Monster Spy follows Sarah’s perilous journey as she hunts a rogue German doctor in Central Africa who might be a serial murderer. This unbearably high-stakes thriller pushes Sarah to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE BEAUTIFUL by Renée Ahdieh

Vampires are making their comeback in just FIVE DAYS, and we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Scroll down to read the first chapter of Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. 1st février, 1872 aboard the CGT Aramis Not What It Seemed The Aramis was supposed to arrive at first light, like it did in Celine’s dreams. She would wake beneath a sunlit … Continued
See More

6 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

6 Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

You know that day that comes right after the day we all say how thankful we are for the things we have? The one where everyone runs out and risks life and limb to get half-priced plasma screens and tupperware? Black Friday. It’s one that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good … Continued
See More

October’s most anticipated reads!

To put it simply, October is a very good month for books. And here are 6 of the most highly anticipated you do NOT want to miss!   The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys – October 1st If you love historical fiction, stunning prose, and a cover you’ll want to keep turned out to gaze … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: The Blossom and the Firefly

This week, we’re reading The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith, a powerful WWII romance between two Japanese teens caught in the cogs of an unwinnable war. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One Hana Japan 1945 My father’s voice wakes me—thick as wool, slightly scratchy. “Get up, Hana. It’s time to get going.” Music … Continued
See More

17 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 17 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction. (Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.) … Continued
See More

Halloween may be over, but these 4 books will leave you thoroughly creeped out

We love a good Halloween spook, but the best ones are the scares that last year round, and these top 4 reads will probably be keeping us creeped out well into 2020…   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall BY. FAR. One of the CREEPIEST reads of 2019. Rules for Vanishing is a chilling combination of The Blair Witch … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of FIREBORNE

We’ll make it plain: Fireborne is going to destroy you. It is going to do things to your emotions. It’s going to suck you in with the gutting emotional pull of An Ember in the Ashes and then shock you with Game of Thrones-esque plot twists and battles. And it’s all coming October 15th, scroll down to read the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP