Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books to Read if You Love Veronica Mars

SHARE

Veronica Mars seriously has it all: that sunny California setting where everything isn’t as perfect as it seems, the grit of a hardboiled detective story, and, most of all, a tough teen heroine who is always two steps ahead of everyone else. We wish we were HALF as quick with a quip as Veronica. And who wouldn’t want a friend like Wallace to have their back? And let’s be real: we can’t help but love Logan, even if he does drive us crazy.

The bad news is the show only has three seasons (and one movie!) The good news is that we’ve rounded up some captivating page-turners that would keep even Mars Investigations guessing. Read on for 7 of our favorites!

 

Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

When her best friend is found dead in a swimming pool, Jude is determined to prove that it was murder. And as we know from Veronica Mars, sunny California makes the best setting for noir mystery.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Mr. Greyhill is one of Sangui City, Kenya’s most feared criminals. Tina’s mission to avenger her mother’s murder brings her back to into the criminal’s house as a thief. But when she’s caught the breathless intrigue is only just beginning.

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Zoe moves to a new town with one goal: keep her head down until she can get out and go to college. But the annoying and brilliant Digby has other ideas. His investigation of a missing girl is full of hilarity and heart that will be familiar to Marshmallows everywhere.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Veronica Mars would have fit right in with the “truth commission” Normandy Pale and her friends started to unearth the secrets at their school. But when things start leading back to Normandy’s talented older sister, Normandy realizes that some truths are best left hidden.

 

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

Just like Neptune High, Whidbey Island is full of secrets, and Becca’s ability to hear the thoughts of others means she knows more than she should.

 

Shelter by Harlan Corban

After witnessing his father’s death and putting his mother in rehab, Mickey’s having a year that Logan Echolls could relate to. And things get worse when his girlfriend disappears, placing Mickey at the heart of a conspiracy that challenges everything he thought he knew.

 

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

Nearly Boswell just wants to get out of the Washington, DC trailer park she shares with her mom, and a highly competitive scholarship is exactly what she needs. But when a serial killer starts placing cryptic newspaper ads that only Nearly can decipher, she becomes the target of the police…and the murderer. This high stakes thriller will fly by faster than an episode with Neptune’s favorite high school sleuth.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 14 books to read under your desk this year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP