Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Summer Reads to Fill the Void Your Favorite TV Show Left Behind

SHARE

There’s one drawback to the start of summer: lots of TV shows end in the spring. Fear not! Just close your laptop and turn off the TV, because we’ve rounded up the perfect reads to keep the magic going – whatever your favorite show!

 

Revenge ––> Daughter of Deep Silence

image

Here’s why: The lines of identity, truth, and revenge get blurred as these women fight to avenge the murders of people they loved.

 

Game of Thrones ––> Falling Kingdoms

image

Here’s why: Kings clash, rebel forces rise, and a long-forgotten magic stirs to life in these intricately plotted fantasy epics.

 

The 100 ––> Dove Arising

image

Here’s why: In the future, people live in space stations because Earth is inhabitable…but what’s really going on down there?

 

The Voice ––> Everybody Knows Your Name 

image

Here’s why: Ever wonder what it’s actually like off the cameras for the contestants in singing competitions?

 

Once Upon a Time ––> The Wrath and the Dawn 

image

Here’s why: Giving new life to fairytales and stories of old: The Wrath and the Dawnwas inspired by A Thousand and One Nights!

 

Penny Dreadful ––> Man Made Boy

image

Here’s why: Classics like the story of Frankenstein’s monster still make for fantastic storytelling today.

 

The Vampire Diaries ––> Bloodlines

image

Here’s why: Everything gets more complicated when humans and vampires coexist…and fall in love.

 

Reign ––> Landry Park

image

Here’s why: Young women at the top charging into changing politics and shifting societies and figuring out where they stand in the tensest of times.

 

The Following ––> The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

image

Here’s why: Diving into the darkness of cults and the widespread effect they have on followers AND people who aren’t involved.

 

Bonus recommendation! Because let’s face it, you’re going to need more help with Game of Thrones  ––> An Ember in the Ashes

image

Here’s why: If you’re missing brutal Westeros, you’ll feel right at home in the Empire, where defiance is punished by death and young people must become soldiers and spies, turncoats and killers, to claw their way into positions of power and freedom–they hope.

 

Image sources: Revenge Game of Thrones The 100 The Voice Once Upon a Time Penny Dreadful The Vampire Diaries Reign The Following

#ShelfGoals

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxed sets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP