Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books About Books

SHARE

Our world is pretty much all about books. So when we come across a book about a book, it’s like multiplying our love for them x1000000. It’s like getting a second helping of book love. It’s like getting double the love. Experience the magic and get on a meta level with us with these books about books!

 

The Reader by Traci Chee

What if there were no books? Set in a world without reading, The Reader is a stunningly written fantasy full of swashbuckling pirates, merciless assassins, and an odd rectangular object that young Sefia will come to realize is a book. On top of that, The Reader itself is absolutely beautiful and contains secret messages in the pages. The sequel, The Speaker goes on sale in November!

 

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

In this spin off to the Falling Kingdoms series, modern-day Toronto teen Becca Hatcher gets transported to the kingdoms of Mytica when she opens a mysterious leather bound book at her family’s used bookstore. Stuck in a parallel world, it’s up to her sister Crystal to figure out how to get Becca back. Note: even if opening mysterious leather bound books tends to trigger deadly ancient magic, we still want one.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Hazel Grace’s favorite book An Imperial Affliction plays a huge part in her epic relationship with Augustus Waters – it’s her first book recommendation to him, it brings them to Amsterdam, and it fits into the ending oh-so-beautifully but in a way that we certainly will not spoil right here. Just go read this book if you haven’t yet.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Not only is Mosquitoland author David Arnold’s newest book inspired in part by S.E. Hinton’s all-time classic The Outsiders, but it also weaves references to it seamlessly into the story. One of our favorite examples? The main character Vic loves how his new friend Mad always quotes her favorite book The Outsiders, and the quote he likes best “was something about two people admiring the sunset from different places, and how maybe their worlds weren’t that different because they saw the same sunset.”

Kids of Appetite comes out 9/20, preorder your copy here!

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Tales of the Peculiar is a companion novel to Ransom Riggs’ bestselling Miss Peregrine series, and it references an actual book of fairytales about the peculiars before they were given a home.

 

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

Scarlett Epstein is your hilarious and witty new best friend who is also a super talented fan fiction writer. Her dad is a writer too – but what Scarlett doesn’t know is how his new book will play into her crazy year after she starts writing fanfic about her actual classmates and doesn’t consider what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks of them.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Normandy Pale is just trying to get by but it’s difficult when your older sister published a bestselling comic series about your family that paints you as a sloth-like, vacant blob. Talk about trying to shake an image.

 

Popular by Maya Van Wagenen

Popular is what happens when a modern day Texas teen lives her life according to a 1950’s popularity guide. It’s adorable, heartwarming, and oh – it’s a true story.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 9 books that will destroy your heart!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP