Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books About Books

SHARE

Our world is pretty much all about books. So when we come across a book about a book, it’s like multiplying our love for them x1000000. It’s like getting a second helping of book love. It’s like getting double the love. Experience the magic and get on a meta level with us with these books about books!

 

The Reader by Traci Chee

What if there were no books? Set in a world without reading, The Reader is a stunningly written fantasy full of swashbuckling pirates, merciless assassins, and an odd rectangular object that young Sefia will come to realize is a book. On top of that, The Reader itself is absolutely beautiful and contains secret messages in the pages. The sequel, The Speaker goes on sale in November!

 

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

In this spin off to the Falling Kingdoms series, modern-day Toronto teen Becca Hatcher gets transported to the kingdoms of Mytica when she opens a mysterious leather bound book at her family’s used bookstore. Stuck in a parallel world, it’s up to her sister Crystal to figure out how to get Becca back. Note: even if opening mysterious leather bound books tends to trigger deadly ancient magic, we still want one.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Hazel Grace’s favorite book An Imperial Affliction plays a huge part in her epic relationship with Augustus Waters – it’s her first book recommendation to him, it brings them to Amsterdam, and it fits into the ending oh-so-beautifully but in a way that we certainly will not spoil right here. Just go read this book if you haven’t yet.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Not only is Mosquitoland author David Arnold’s newest book inspired in part by S.E. Hinton’s all-time classic The Outsiders, but it also weaves references to it seamlessly into the story. One of our favorite examples? The main character Vic loves how his new friend Mad always quotes her favorite book The Outsiders, and the quote he likes best “was something about two people admiring the sunset from different places, and how maybe their worlds weren’t that different because they saw the same sunset.”

Kids of Appetite comes out 9/20, preorder your copy here!

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Tales of the Peculiar is a companion novel to Ransom Riggs’ bestselling Miss Peregrine series, and it references an actual book of fairytales about the peculiars before they were given a home.

 

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

Scarlett Epstein is your hilarious and witty new best friend who is also a super talented fan fiction writer. Her dad is a writer too – but what Scarlett doesn’t know is how his new book will play into her crazy year after she starts writing fanfic about her actual classmates and doesn’t consider what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks of them.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Normandy Pale is just trying to get by but it’s difficult when your older sister published a bestselling comic series about your family that paints you as a sloth-like, vacant blob. Talk about trying to shake an image.

 

Popular by Maya Van Wagenen

Popular is what happens when a modern day Texas teen lives her life according to a 1950’s popularity guide. It’s adorable, heartwarming, and oh – it’s a true story.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 9 books that will destroy your heart!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: BOTH SIDES NOW by Peyton Thomas

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas is a witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue. There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx and Hispanic authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez  An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it … Continued
See More

Duologies that make really cute couples

Some duologies just make the absolute perfect couple. And we’re here to give you 9 that belong together on your shelf! The Goddess in the Machine Duology The plot twists ALONE will have you up all night. We can’t wait to see this duology completed on August 24th! The Kinder Poison Duology Action, royalty, a … Continued
See More

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re officially looking for your next series to get sucked into over the holidays, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav boxed sets!   The Ruta Sepetys Collection Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Ruta Sepetys from the beginning. Featuring beautiful new cover art, this collection includes paperback editions of her … Continued
See More

Completed YA series you can read start to finish right now!

Is waiting for the next book an absolute struggle for you? We understand. So we put together a list of completed YA series you can read start to finish today!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE … Continued
See More

17 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 17 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect! Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon It … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: MARGOT MERTZ TAKES IT DOWN

Hitting shelves this Tuesday, Veronica Mars meets Moxie in this hilarious and biting YA contemporary novel. Meet Margot Mertz, a girl who runs an internet cleanup business and embarks on a quest to take down a revenge-porn site targeting the girls in her school. Scroll down to begin reading Margot Mertz Takes It Down! “I mean . . . he was in such … Continued
See More

5 Reads to Take Back to School!

Summer may be coming to an end, but the good reads continue. So get that backpack ready, because we’re here with 5 reads that are perfect to take back to school with you!   Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world … Continued
See More

Halloween Books: Use the Scare-O-Meter to Find Your Perfect Scary Read!

Halloween is just around that corner, and we are SO read-y for all the Halloween reads and scares! While we know some of you are here for those up-all-night chilling chapters, we know that others may be looking to get some shut-eye after that last chapter. So, we’ve broken our favorite Halloween reads into three degrees of … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP