Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books About Books

SHARE

Our world is pretty much all about books. So when we come across a book about a book, it’s like multiplying our love for them x1000000. It’s like getting a second helping of book love. It’s like getting double the love. Experience the magic and get on a meta level with us with these books about books!

 

The Reader by Traci Chee

What if there were no books? Set in a world without reading, The Reader is a stunningly written fantasy full of swashbuckling pirates, merciless assassins, and an odd rectangular object that young Sefia will come to realize is a book. On top of that, The Reader itself is absolutely beautiful and contains secret messages in the pages. The sequel, The Speaker goes on sale in November!

 

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

In this spin off to the Falling Kingdoms series, modern-day Toronto teen Becca Hatcher gets transported to the kingdoms of Mytica when she opens a mysterious leather bound book at her family’s used bookstore. Stuck in a parallel world, it’s up to her sister Crystal to figure out how to get Becca back. Note: even if opening mysterious leather bound books tends to trigger deadly ancient magic, we still want one.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Hazel Grace’s favorite book An Imperial Affliction plays a huge part in her epic relationship with Augustus Waters – it’s her first book recommendation to him, it brings them to Amsterdam, and it fits into the ending oh-so-beautifully but in a way that we certainly will not spoil right here. Just go read this book if you haven’t yet.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Not only is Mosquitoland author David Arnold’s newest book inspired in part by S.E. Hinton’s all-time classic The Outsiders, but it also weaves references to it seamlessly into the story. One of our favorite examples? The main character Vic loves how his new friend Mad always quotes her favorite book The Outsiders, and the quote he likes best “was something about two people admiring the sunset from different places, and how maybe their worlds weren’t that different because they saw the same sunset.”

Kids of Appetite comes out 9/20, preorder your copy here!

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Tales of the Peculiar is a companion novel to Ransom Riggs’ bestselling Miss Peregrine series, and it references an actual book of fairytales about the peculiars before they were given a home.

 

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw

Scarlett Epstein is your hilarious and witty new best friend who is also a super talented fan fiction writer. Her dad is a writer too – but what Scarlett doesn’t know is how his new book will play into her crazy year after she starts writing fanfic about her actual classmates and doesn’t consider what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks of them.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Normandy Pale is just trying to get by but it’s difficult when your older sister published a bestselling comic series about your family that paints you as a sloth-like, vacant blob. Talk about trying to shake an image.

 

Popular by Maya Van Wagenen

Popular is what happens when a modern day Texas teen lives her life according to a 1950’s popularity guide. It’s adorable, heartwarming, and oh – it’s a true story.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 9 books that will destroy your heart!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP