Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books to Boost Your Happiness Index

SHARE

In Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, the titular character keeps track of the ups and downs of her days on a set of index cards, scoring each day on a 10 point scale. Plus one point for happiness, minus one point for unhappiness… or more for the really bad or really good stuff. After Juniper loses her sister Camilla in a car crash, her index becomes her lifeline, but when a card goes missing the index launches Juni into a mysterious scavenger hunt she never would have imagined. Here are few books she should check out (and you should too!) to help boost her daily happiness index.

 

Perfect Ten by L. Philips

Sam Raine’s has had a love life dry-spell ever since breaking up with his ex-turned-best-friend Landon two years ago. But after casting a spell with his Wiccan friend Meg on a list of the attributes required for a “perfect ten” boyfriend, new boys are suddenly popping up all over Sam’s life! This cute and quirky gay romance will certainly leave you smiling by the end.

 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz

This delightful road-trip adventure full of art is the light and breezy summer book to lift even the heaviest of spirits. Nora is ready to escape her mother and the states for a summer of art and romance traveling through Europe. But at the last second, Nora’s mother Alice decides to tag-along, throwing all Nora’s plans and expectations into total chaos. Funny and heartwarming, this mother-daughter story in the vein of Gilmore Girls is the perfect book to make you smile.

 

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

The iconic love story for the ages is immortalized once again in this perfect romance full of petticoats and courtship. A headstrong Eliza Schuyler meets the dashing and unconventional Alexander Hamilton at a party for her father, and instantly dislikes him. Two years later they meet again and Eliza finds she’s much more amenable to his honor and charms, and the two begin a love affair that will shape the very nation they are fighting to build.

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Get ready to laugh out loud as you solve the thrilling mystery in Trouble is a Friend of Mine, and just maybe fall for the dashing and sassy Digby along the way. Zoe Webster is new in town and is just trying to make a friend… but when a local teen goes missing she somehow finds herself dragged into the case that Sherlock-wanna-be Digby is determined to solve. Full of laughter and simmering romance, Trouble is the perfect mood boosting supplement.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

A Sarah Dessen is always a promise of happy endings and heartfelt romance, and Once and For All is no exception. Set during a summer full of wedding planning, hijinks, friends, and love, this the perfect contemporary to bring a smile to your face and a glow to your heart.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

Hilarious and inspiring buzfeed writer Erin Chack’s memoir is both touching and laugh-out-loud funny! She covers topics as diverse as dealing with and surviving a cancer scare at nineteen, spending over ten years dating her boyfriend, and what happens when her DivaCup won’t come out. Good for a laugh (and maybe a cry) you can’t walk away from this book in a bad mood.

 

 

Get your copy of Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

8 YA books that will have you feeling sporty

If this cold weather is keeping you inside and tucked under blankets, here are 8 books that will have you feelings sporty without ever leaving the house!   If you love competition… Game On edited by Laura Silverman A charming and inclusive YA anthology all about games—from athletic sports to board games to virtual reality—from editor … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of AFRICAN TOWN

Chronicling the story of the last Africans brought illegally to America in 1860, African Town is a powerful and stunning novel-in-verse, coming January 4, 2022. Scroll down to read an excerpt! KOSSOLA Our Story Be still, my children. Listen with your ears and your heart. Our story starts with this mark on my right cheek, these chipped … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: BOTH SIDES NOW by Peyton Thomas

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas is a witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue. There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold … Continued
See More

Not-to-be-missed YA reads this winter!

Keep warm this winter with these not-to-be-missed YA reads coming to shelves!   Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor – January 18 The electrifying third book in the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time” and “100 Best YA Books of All Time,” from award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor. … Continued
See More

Start reading THE RIGHTEOUS by Renée Ahdieh

The Righteous, the third installment to Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful Quartet, is on shelves now! Waiting on your copy? We got you. Scroll down for a sneak peek and start reading! In this latest installment of The New York Times bestselling series that began with The Beautiful, Pippa journeys to the treacherous and beguiling world of the fey in search … Continued
See More

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re officially looking for your next series to get sucked into over the holidays, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav boxed sets!   The Ruta Sepetys Collection Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Ruta Sepetys from the beginning. Featuring beautiful new cover art, this collection includes paperback editions of her … Continued
See More

7 Magical YA Fairytale Retellings

Relive some of your favorite fairytales and legends with these 7 magical YA retellings!   About the book: Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in … Continued
See More

8 YA books about friendship

Books are friends, and we love that. But we also love books about friends. So, if you’re always looking for the next book that’s really going to make you think, here are 6 YA reads that explore all sorts of complex friendships for your shelf!   The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer Think Heathers complicated. This intoxicating thriller about … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of WINTERKEEP by Kristin Cashore!

Winterkeep is the newest installment in Kristin Cashore’s bestselling Graceling Realm series, now in paperback! And whether you’ve read Graceling five times over, or are just hearing about it now, never fear: each Graceling novel can be read as a stand alone, and we’re here to help you get started on this epic fantasy series with … Continued
See More

Vampire books to sink your teeth into!

Halloween may be over, but here at Penguin Teen, we can’t resist a paranormal romance featuring our favorite fanged characters year round. So, here are 6 vampire books to sink your teeth into!   The story that kicked off the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series. St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP