Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

SHARE

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, a thread of social and political commentary, and a shirtless Michael B. Jordan…the list goes on! If you’re feeling the Black Panther-shaped hole in your heart right now, let us fill it with these 6 amazing reads! Wakanda Forever.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor’s YA fantasy is a modern classic, and its Nigerian setting and story steeped in African lore is everything you need after leaving Wakanda. Akata Witch blends mythology, fantasy, history, and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound. Sunny is kind of like Shuri–the kid sister figure that you do. not. want to mess with. The best part? Its sequel, Akata Warrior, is now available too!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

\

Mariko from Renée Ahdieh’s Flame in the Mist is basically like if Nakia and Shuri were combined into one completely badass character. After she narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, Mariko must give up her dreams of being an alchemist and inventor, and goes undercover to infiltrate the Black Clan. Part spy, part inventor, totally. kick. ass. The sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is available this June!

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

In this thrilling debut based on Nigerian culture we follow Taj, the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. This darkly beautiful fantasy explores themes of class inequality, political conspiracy, and the true meaning of justice and guilt. If you loved the political undertones and power struggles in Black Panther, welcome to the city of Kos. And don’t fret, because the conclusion to this duology, Crown of Thunder, is coming this fall!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

If you thought Okoye, the spear-wielding general of the Wakanda army was inspiring AF, you need to be introduced to a Ms. Helene Aquilla of Sabaa Tahir’s Ember in the Ashes series. She’s the only woman at Blackliff, a training academy for the Empire, and to say she holds her own would be an understatement. We couldn’t help but get series Helene vibes watching the fiercely loyal Okoye on screen. Okoye is to Prince T’Challa as Helene is to the Emperor. The third book, A Reaper at the Gates, hits shelves this summer!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

We haven’t even begun to talk about Erik Killmonger. City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang. We can’t help be reminded of her when watching Erik, who was orphaned after his father was killed and who you better believe is holding a grudge, eventually leading him to challenge the throne in Wakanda.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Not only did we draw parallels between the technologically evolved country of Wakanda and Marie Lu’s near-future Tokyo, we needed another comparison to Shuri because she is, in our humble opinion, easily the best character. Her lab of high-tech gadgets made us think of none other than Emika Chen, with all of her futuristic Warcross gear. Where one invents, the other hacks, and they both have a sharp wit, a keen mind, and are total badasses.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more Black Panther content? Check out Tochi Onyebuchi’s piece!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Fall Into Fantasy: The Epic Readathon Wrap-Up

Fall Into Fantasy was the readathon of a lifetime. Books were read, tweets were twittered, caffeine was consumed, and tbh tears were shed (some books just kick you right in the feels, ya know?). ANYWAY, we just want to say THANK YOU to all of our amazing hosts and readers who participated! If you missed … Continued
See More

Here’s What Book You Should Read Based on Your Favorite Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Character

Raise your hand if you, like us, are now obsessed with Netflix’s Chilling Adventures of Sabrina. via GIPHY   Raise your hand if you, like us, binged the whole series over the weekend and now have to wait way too long for the next season. via GIPHY It’s okay, this is a safe, witchy space, … Continued
See More

When Your Book Becomes a TV Show! Stephanie Oakes Tells All

We had to know, what’s it like when your book becomes a TV show? Stephanie Oakes‘ 2015 cult instant classic The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly was picked up by Facebook Watch and tonight Sacred Lies ends an absolute terrifically haunting first season – which you can watch at anytime right HERE. We had Stephanie look … Continued
See More

The Lies You Never Told Me paperback is here and it’s GORGEOUS

Looking for your next twisty, unputdownable thriller to read with a cup of hot cocoa and a blanket (while pretending it’s not really really cold outside)? We got you. Just in case you missed out the first time around, Lies You Never Told Me follows four teens with dangerous secrets caught in the midst of scandal, shocking twists, … Continued
See More

Fall Into Fantasy Readathon HQ

Everything You Need To Know!   The Fall Into Fantasy Readathon will take place from November 18th – 25th, with the goal of reading at least four fantasy books off your to be read (TBR) pile! Not sure what to read? No worries, we’ve come up with eight reading challenges to help you build your … Continued
See More

Book Recommendations for every Crazy Rich Asians movie character

It’s been the box office smash of the late summer and we can’t get enough of Crazy Rich Asians either! Of course, we’re fans of anything based on a good book series, but what if your favorite characters need a book recommendation? And a YA book rec at that? Like Rachel figuring out her way in … Continued
See More

First Exclusive Excerpt of The Dark Days Deceit!

The jaw-dropping conclusion to Alison Goodman’s The Dark Days series is almost here and we’ve got the inside scoop. If you’ve been keeping up to date with all the epic monster hunting shenanigans, you know we’ve been through a lot with our favorite demon hunter, Lady Helen. In fact, you’d think she’d be able to take a nice little break … Continued
See More

John Green just announced the Looking for Alaska cast!

It’s been in development for YEARS but finally thanks to Hulu TV, John Green’s Looking for Alaska is making its way to the small screen! John himself tweeted how exciting it was to see the adaptation that has been 13 years in the making, take the next steps and that includes the MASSIVE announcement that … Continued
See More

4 Books to Read if You’re Stoked for the Dumplin’ Movie

In case you haven’t heard, Netflix just dropped the trailer for the adaptation of Julie Murphy’s beloved, contemporary YA novel, Dumplin’!   So now the internet is getting all: I AM READY — (@faeszn) November 14, 2018 and Jennifer Aniston + Dove Cameron? I will stay up until this movie is released — rosé (@rosaisela028) November 14, … Continued
See More

7 Spooky Books to Read if You’re PSYCHED About Netflix’s Sabrina Reboot

Something crazy is happening this month   No, we don’t mean the whole “Dunkin’ is dropping ‘Donuts’ from their name” thing. (But we’re pretty shook about that too.)   We mean the Netflix. Reboot. Of. SABRINA.    Sabrina the Teenage Witch is getting a killer (literally) reboot and we are living for it. Firstly, they’ve added Chilling to … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP