Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

SHARE

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, a thread of social and political commentary, and a shirtless Michael B. Jordan…the list goes on! If you’re feeling the Black Panther-shaped hole in your heart right now, let us fill it with these 6 amazing reads! Wakanda Forever.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor’s YA fantasy is a modern classic, and its Nigerian setting and story steeped in African lore is everything you need after leaving Wakanda. Akata Witch blends mythology, fantasy, history, and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound. Sunny is kind of like Shuri–the kid sister figure that you do. not. want to mess with. The best part? Its sequel, Akata Warrior, is now available too!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

\

Mariko from Renée Ahdieh’s Flame in the Mist is basically like if Nakia and Shuri were combined into one completely badass character. After she narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, Mariko must give up her dreams of being an alchemist and inventor, and goes undercover to infiltrate the Black Clan. Part spy, part inventor, totally. kick. ass. The sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is available this June!

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

In this thrilling debut based on Nigerian culture we follow Taj, the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. This darkly beautiful fantasy explores themes of class inequality, political conspiracy, and the true meaning of justice and guilt. If you loved the political undertones and power struggles in Black Panther, welcome to the city of Kos. And don’t fret, because the conclusion to this duology, Crown of Thunder, is coming this fall!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

If you thought Okoye, the spear-wielding general of the Wakanda army was inspiring AF, you need to be introduced to a Ms. Helene Aquilla of Sabaa Tahir’s Ember in the Ashes series. She’s the only woman at Blackliff, a training academy for the Empire, and to say she holds her own would be an understatement. We couldn’t help but get series Helene vibes watching the fiercely loyal Okoye on screen. Okoye is to Prince T’Challa as Helene is to the Emperor. The third book, A Reaper at the Gates, hits shelves this summer!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

We haven’t even begun to talk about Erik Killmonger. City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang. We can’t help be reminded of her when watching Erik, who was orphaned after his father was killed and who you better believe is holding a grudge, eventually leading him to challenge the throne in Wakanda.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Not only did we draw parallels between the technologically evolved country of Wakanda and Marie Lu’s near-future Tokyo, we needed another comparison to Shuri because she is, in our humble opinion, easily the best character. Her lab of high-tech gadgets made us think of none other than Emika Chen, with all of her futuristic Warcross gear. Where one invents, the other hacks, and they both have a sharp wit, a keen mind, and are total badasses.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more Black Panther content? Check out Tochi Onyebuchi’s piece!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

When Your Book Becomes a TV Show! Stephanie Oakes Tells All

We had to know, what’s it like when your book becomes a TV show? Stephanie Oakes‘ 2015 cult instant classic The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly was picked up by Facebook Watch and tonight Sacred Lies ends an absolute terrifically haunting first season – which you can watch at anytime right HERE. We had Stephanie look … Continued
See More

Ten Takeaways from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before from YA Rom-Com Experts

If you’re like us at all, you spent the ENTIRE weekend watching and re-watching, then slow-mo watching, then scene-by-scene breakdown watching the instant classic YA rom-com To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before movie. It dropped on Netflix first thing Friday and like a Peter Kavinsky smile, it immediately shook the world and we urgently … Continued
See More

What To Read After Watching Netflix’s The Kissing Booth

So you’ve watched Netflix’s The Kissing Booth a few hundred times and now you’re finally ready to search for your next YA rom-com, that has friendship, sibling drama and sexy forbidden love interests! Step right up, because we’ve got you covered.   Always, Never, Yours If you loved the banter of Elle and Noah and … Continued
See More

Book Recommendations for every Crazy Rich Asians movie character

It’s been the box office smash of the late summer and we can’t get enough of Crazy Rich Asians either! Of course, we’re fans of anything based on a good book series, but what if your favorite characters need a book recommendation? And a YA book rec at that? Like Rachel figuring out her way in … Continued
See More

The ultimate book recommendations for every Good Place character

Holy shirtballs! We love The Good Place and are so excited the series is returning this fall for its’ third season. Waiting forking stinks though, so in the meantime, we’ve matched The Good Place characters with the YA book that best fits their, well, character. Haven’t watched The Good Place or read all of the … Continued
See More

Four YA Sporty Girls Who Are Kicking Goals

Soccer is the hot sport of the moment, thanks to that big game happening in Russia. But don’t let the dudes rule the field, these books feature sport loving ladies who deserve their time in the spotlight.   The Season A Pride and Prejudice retelling with a soccer mad main character and set during the … Continued
See More

Everything you need to know about Cyrano de Bergerac before watching ‘Sierra Burgess is a Loser’

We’re obsessively checking Netflix just waiting for Sierra Burgess is a Loser to finally debut so we can swoon over sensitive-but-hot dreamboat Noah Centineo in his next starring role! Following the titular character Sierra, the new Netflix romcom is all about being able to see past appearances to love the content of a person’s soul, and it’s actually based … Continued
See More

While you wait for the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie

August!!! Why are you so far away?! After the cutest teen rom-com trailer ever (go on, you can watch it again, we’ll be here) released yesterday, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie seems WAY too far away. These hella swoony reads might just make the wait for Lara Jean’s story just a little easier to handle. … Continued
See More

The Seafire Book Trailer is here and we LOVE it

The crew of Seafire are one badass collection of ladies who fight and work together! Of course, an epic trailer to match the fierceness of this book was required. Now that it’s here, we are little bit in love with this call to the sea. Hinting at the determination, the challenges and the raw power … Continued
See More

Three reads perfect for the ladies of The Bold Type

If you haven’t been watching Freeform’s The Bold Type, then you are missing out! Three young women at the beginning of their careers taking on the workforce, New York city, life and love drama. Basically, it’s our JAM! The leading trio definitely have a WHOLE lot of personality so we picked three great reads for … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP