Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

SHARE

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, a thread of social and political commentary, and a shirtless Michael B. Jordan…the list goes on! If you’re feeling the Black Panther-shaped hole in your heart right now, let us fill it with these 6 amazing reads! Wakanda Forever.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor’s YA fantasy is a modern classic, and its Nigerian setting and story steeped in African lore is everything you need after leaving Wakanda. Akata Witch blends mythology, fantasy, history, and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound. Sunny is kind of like Shuri–the kid sister figure that you do. not. want to mess with. The best part? Its sequel, Akata Warrior, is now available too!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

\

Mariko from Renée Ahdieh’s Flame in the Mist is basically like if Nakia and Shuri were combined into one completely badass character. After she narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, Mariko must give up her dreams of being an alchemist and inventor, and goes undercover to infiltrate the Black Clan. Part spy, part inventor, totally. kick. ass. The sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is available this June!

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

In this thrilling debut based on Nigerian culture we follow Taj, the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. This darkly beautiful fantasy explores themes of class inequality, political conspiracy, and the true meaning of justice and guilt. If you loved the political undertones and power struggles in Black Panther, welcome to the city of Kos. And don’t fret, because the conclusion to this duology, Crown of Thunder, is coming this fall!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

If you thought Okoye, the spear-wielding general of the Wakanda army was inspiring AF, you need to be introduced to a Ms. Helene Aquilla of Sabaa Tahir’s Ember in the Ashes series. She’s the only woman at Blackliff, a training academy for the Empire, and to say she holds her own would be an understatement. We couldn’t help but get series Helene vibes watching the fiercely loyal Okoye on screen. Okoye is to Prince T’Challa as Helene is to the Emperor. The third book, A Reaper at the Gates, hits shelves this summer!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

We haven’t even begun to talk about Erik Killmonger. City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang. We can’t help be reminded of her when watching Erik, who was orphaned after his father was killed and who you better believe is holding a grudge, eventually leading him to challenge the throne in Wakanda.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Not only did we draw parallels between the technologically evolved country of Wakanda and Marie Lu’s near-future Tokyo, we needed another comparison to Shuri because she is, in our humble opinion, easily the best character. Her lab of high-tech gadgets made us think of none other than Emika Chen, with all of her futuristic Warcross gear. Where one invents, the other hacks, and they both have a sharp wit, a keen mind, and are total badasses.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more Black Panther content? Check out Tochi Onyebuchi’s piece!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Read an excerpt of THE VANISHING DEEP

After Four Dead Queens left us SHOCKED with the killer plot twist of 2019, we have been eagerly awaiting to see what Astrid Scholte has next! Luckily, we don’t have to wait long. The Vanishing Deep is hitting shelves THIS. MARCH. But we have an excerpt, so you can start reading it today! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2017

2017. To put it simply? It was the year of Fyre Festival. But hey, at least we got some great books. Welcome to your 2017 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2017! Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza Holmes never intended to pursue the disappearance of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but … Continued
See More

Cast Your Vote for the Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

2019 has been a FULL of heart-stopping moments in the book world. Frank stole our hearts in Frankly in Love. The plot twist at the end of The Beautiful left us SCREAMING. Ruta Sepetys made us sob with yet another masterpiece, The Fountains of Silence. This is Penguin Teen: Best Bookish Moments of 2019, and the vote is up to YOU! Meet … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE COMPANION

Get ready for the eeriest read of this summer. Today, we’re revealing the cover of Katie Alender’s twisty new novel, The Companion. And this cover.is.CHILLING. The Companion follows Margot. The other orphans claim she’s lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2016

It was 2016 and basically everyone was either dancing to Hamilton or obsessed with Stranger Things. Welcome to your 2016 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2016! Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.Wealthy cannibals who dine on the … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2013

It was the year everyone was laughing their heads off over that video of a goat screaming to “I Knew You Were Trouble” by Taylor Swift. It was the year Vine was born. The year we pondered what, exactly, does a fox say? This is your 2013 wrap-up.   Biggest Books of 2013! The 5th Wave by … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2015

The year of the Taylor Swift 1989 tour. The year Jon Snow died. Oh, and hey, remember Left Shark? Welcome to your 2015 wrap-up!     Biggest Books of 2015! An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2018

Yanny or Laurel?? Welcome to your 2018 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2018! A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2014

Oh, 2014. The year Adele Dazeem was born. The year everyone dropped buckets of ice each other to spread a good cause. The year How I Met Your Mother ended (in an episode that is still hotly debated to this day.) Let It Go was stuck in our heads for months on end. And also we got some amazing books. This … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP