Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Akata Witch and 5 Other Books to Read if You Loved Black Panther

SHARE

If you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, stop reading this right now and go buy a ticket. If you have, and you’re craving more African fantasy, more girl inventors, or more badass female warriors, you’ve come to the right place. Black Panther truly had it all–a beautiful African-inspired setting, a power struggle between two princes, an all female army, a thread of social and political commentary, and a shirtless Michael B. Jordan…the list goes on! If you’re feeling the Black Panther-shaped hole in your heart right now, let us fill it with these 6 amazing reads! Wakanda Forever.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor’s YA fantasy is a modern classic, and its Nigerian setting and story steeped in African lore is everything you need after leaving Wakanda. Akata Witch blends mythology, fantasy, history, and magic into a compelling tale that will keep readers spellbound. Sunny is kind of like Shuri–the kid sister figure that you do. not. want to mess with. The best part? Its sequel, Akata Warrior, is now available too!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

\

Mariko from Renée Ahdieh’s Flame in the Mist is basically like if Nakia and Shuri were combined into one completely badass character. After she narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, Mariko must give up her dreams of being an alchemist and inventor, and goes undercover to infiltrate the Black Clan. Part spy, part inventor, totally. kick. ass. The sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is available this June!

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

In this thrilling debut based on Nigerian culture we follow Taj, the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. This darkly beautiful fantasy explores themes of class inequality, political conspiracy, and the true meaning of justice and guilt. If you loved the political undertones and power struggles in Black Panther, welcome to the city of Kos. And don’t fret, because the conclusion to this duology, Crown of Thunder, is coming this fall!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

If you thought Okoye, the spear-wielding general of the Wakanda army was inspiring AF, you need to be introduced to a Ms. Helene Aquilla of Sabaa Tahir’s Ember in the Ashes series. She’s the only woman at Blackliff, a training academy for the Empire, and to say she holds her own would be an understatement. We couldn’t help but get series Helene vibes watching the fiercely loyal Okoye on screen. Okoye is to Prince T’Challa as Helene is to the Emperor. The third book, A Reaper at the Gates, hits shelves this summer!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

We haven’t even begun to talk about Erik Killmonger. City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang. We can’t help be reminded of her when watching Erik, who was orphaned after his father was killed and who you better believe is holding a grudge, eventually leading him to challenge the throne in Wakanda.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Not only did we draw parallels between the technologically evolved country of Wakanda and Marie Lu’s near-future Tokyo, we needed another comparison to Shuri because she is, in our humble opinion, easily the best character. Her lab of high-tech gadgets made us think of none other than Emika Chen, with all of her futuristic Warcross gear. Where one invents, the other hacks, and they both have a sharp wit, a keen mind, and are total badasses.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more Black Panther content? Check out Tochi Onyebuchi’s piece!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

While you wait for the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie

August!!! Why are you so far away?! After the cutest teen rom-com trailer ever (go on, you can watch it again, we’ll be here) released yesterday, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie seems WAY too far away. These hella swoony reads might just make the wait for Laura Jean’s story just a little easier to … Continued
See More

Four YA Characters Who Pulled a Steve Trevor from Wonder Woman

If you’re a fan of the recent 2017 Wonder Woman movie like us, then you were left pretty devastated by the ending that – SPOILER ALERT – left Steve Trevor (Chris Pine at his most-Chris-tastic) sacrificing himself to save …well everyone! But with Wonder Woman 2 beginning production, the first set photos were revealed by … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read During Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, and 2018 marks the 40th anniversary that it’s been celebrated. Asian Pacific American Heritage Month celebrates the culture, traditions, and history of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States. How are we celebrating? By reading, of course! Read on for 9 great books to add to … Continued
See More

Three reads perfect for the ladies of The Bold Type

If you haven’t been watching Freeform’s The Bold Type, then you are missing out! Three young women at the beginning of their careers taking on the workforce, New York city, life and love drama. Basically, it’s our JAM! The leading trio definitely have a WHOLE lot of personality so we picked three great reads for … Continued
See More

#ReadProud With These LGBTQIA+ Books

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQIA+ voices and amazing LGBT books. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn … Continued
See More

8 Music Books to Help With Your Musical Festival FOMO

Spring is upon us, which means one very important thing: it’s music festival season! If you’re feeling the end of Coachella even harder this year (#Beychella and that Destiny’s Child reunion, anyone?) or can’t wait for Governors Ball or Bonnaroo, we have a list of the perfect reads to tide you over until your next … Continued
See More

What To Read After Watching Netflix’s The Kissing Booth

So you’ve watched Netflix’s The Kissing Booth a few hundred times and now you’re finally ready to search for your next YA rom-com, that has friendship, sibling drama and sexy forbidden love interests! Step right up, because we’ve got you covered.   Always, Never, Yours If you loved the banter of Elle and Noah and … Continued
See More

13 Books to Read After You Finish 13 Reasons Why

You’ve read the book (haven’t you?!), you’ve now binged both seasons of the show (maybe more than once), and now all you want is more. Never fear, we’ve got thirteen great emotional reads to get you through your 13 Reasons Why book/Netflix hangover!   Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has … Continued
See More

Four YA Sporty Girls Who Are Kicking Goals

Soccer is the hot sport of the moment, thanks to that big game happening in Russia. But don’t let the dudes rule the field, these books feature sport loving ladies who deserve their time in the spotlight.   The Season A Pride and Prejudice retelling with a soccer mad main character and set during the … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Last night was a sad night for TV. Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, just had its season finale. But never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while you wait for season three!   If you can’t get enough of retellings… Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh   If … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP