Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

SHARE

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.

 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz

For a mom that you’d love/hate to take a roadtrip with

In this debut novel from Dana Schwartz (the bitingly funny mind behind the @GuyInYourMFA and @DystopianYA twitter feeds), seventeen-year-old artist Nora Holmes’s travel plans are upended when her mom abruptly decides to join her on her summer trip across Europe. A perfect read for fans of Gilmore Girls, And We’re Off is filled with classic coming-of-age drama, an irresistible mother/daughter dynamic, and a swoon-worthy summer romance.

 

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

The-Fountains-of-Silence-COVER

For moms who love untold histories.

Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence–inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain. This one is perfect if your mom loves to dig into untold history!

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

9780142415436

For moms who love thinking about the true meaning of family.

When Mia loses her family in a car accident that barely spares her life, she must decide between fighting and letting go. It’s a heartbreaking, beautiful book about the power of love and the choices we make. Plus, when mom’s done reading, you can both snuggle up on the couch and watch the If I Stay movie together.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

9780142419403

For moms looking for a fun, flirty (but not too flirty) escape to Paris.

Sure, you’d love to take Mom to the City of Light, but we’re all on a budget here. Thankfully, there are books. In this delightful, charming romance, Anna’s not too thrilled when her father unexpectedly ships her off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair, the perfect boy, who turns her world upside down. Everyone who reads this book falls in love with it–Mom will be no exception.

(Psst…if Mom loves Anna and the French Kiss, you will probably want to steer her towards its companion novels: Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After.)

 

The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

9780451469922

For moms who love a great historical thriller.

The Passion of Dolssa is total fodder for moms who love the History Channel. It has heretics, mystery, lover’s trysts, and a girl who’s running for her life in Medieval France. Through it all, Dolssa’s secrets and Botille’s good intentions could destroy the entire country. Their story is so dangerous that, as Botille writes, “I must write this account, and when I have finished, I will burn it.” Bonus: the cover’s so beautiful, you won’t have to wrap it.

 

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk

9781101994825

For moms who love Harper Lee.

Brilliantly crafted, Wolf Hollow is a haunting tale of America at a crossroads after WWII and a time when one girl’s resilience and strength help to illuminate the darkest corners of our history. Did Mom love To Kill a Mockingbird? This is the perfect read for her.

 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

9780142425763

For moms who gravitate toward books with shiny awards medals on the cover.

I’ll Give You the Sun has won a ton of awards and accolades, and it’s easy to see why: it’s like watching someone sculpt the David right in front of you – awe-inspiring. This complicated story of a broken family learning how to trust each other again will leave mom breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

 

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

For moms who have been reading romance novels since before you were born.

This #1 New York Times bestselling novel is a favorite of romance readers and YA lovers alike. An epic retelling of Arabian NightsThe Wrath and the Dawn follows clever Shahrzad as she bravely enters into a marriage with the eighteen-year-old Caliph (a.k.a. King) of Khorasan–a young man who takes a bride every night, and has her executed every morning. Shazi plans to take revenge on Khalid for the deaths of her best friend and countless others–she does not plan to fall in love with him. But Khalid is not a monster, and his murders are not madness–they are the only thing standing between Khorasan and the devastating effects of a brutal curse. This love story will keep Mom on the edge of her seat.

 

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

9780142420591 (1)

For moms who might love their books more than you. (But that’s okay–you totally get it.)

Has a historical fiction novel EVER made you feel like your heart was too small to contain an ocean of emotion the way Between Shades of Gray did? Probably not. But that’s why you’ve got to put this one on a big-hearted Mom’s bookshelf ASAP.

 

 

 

 

Did you know May is Mental Health Awareness Month? Here are fifteen reads we recommend for starting conversations this month.

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP