Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Series to Binge-Read If You Need an Escape

SHARE

Looking for a stack of books to get totally lost in for a while? Here’s a list of a few of our favorite escape reads!

 

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling kingdoms

If you’re looking for a long, rich fantasy series, this is a great place to start!

About the books: Love, power, and magic collide with war in FALLING KINGDOMS by New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes, a completely gripping epic fantasy series that reads like Game of Thrones for teens.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

warcross

More in the mood for a heart-stopping duology? Warcross is calling your name.

About the books: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

 

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy PB

If you’re looking for a good dash of romance + amazing friendships + badass fights to take you away for a bit, sink your teeth into Vampire Academy!

About the books: Love and loyalty run deeper than blood as Rose dedicates her life to protecting her best friend Lissa from the dangerous undead Strigoi.

 

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Looking for a gripping dystopian sci-fi to keep you holding your breath until book 2 hits shelves? It’s definitely time to pick up War Girls.

About the book: Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

 

 

Matched by Ally Condie

MatchedD_9780593324813_CV_2p.indd

Matched is the dystopian trilogy that is going to give you all the happy nostalgia feels.

About the books: In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Breaking free from it’s pristine confines, Cassia embarks on an epic journey to protect the power of choice and the meaning of true love. An international bestseller, the Matched trilogy is the captivating story of one girl’s movement from acceptance to rebellion.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

71teSaE1vGL

If you’re looking for a cast of characters you’re going to adore as they fight evil and travel the world, this is the series for you.

About the books: The #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, which follows sixteen-year-old Jacob Portman as he journeys from a sleepy Florida suburb to a remote island off the coast of Wales. There he stumbles upon the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s orphanage and discovers the shocking fate of the children who lived there long ago–and may live there still.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

If you’re needing some magic in your life with a dash of sibling rivalry, we recommend picking up A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy while you wait for A Queen of Gilded Horns to hit shelves!

About the book: An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

 

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

This duology is going to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. We recommend reading with a hot cup of tea!

About the book: Darius doesn’t think he’ll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

 

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Perfect if you’re in the mood to take to the seas with a badass crew on their way to fight evil!

About the book: The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of the importance of sisterhood and unity in the face of oppression and tyranny.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AnEmberintheAshes

If you’re needing to escape for a while, An Ember in the Ashes will whisk you away into an incredibly developed fantasy world that will have you deeply invested just a few pages in!

About the books: Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes tells the story of Laia, a slave fighting for her family, and Elias, a young soldier fighting for his freedom.

 

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked-Fox

This duology has all the romance and magic and drama you could ask for, and is guaranteed to take you away as you fall into each chapter!

About the book: With murderous forces lurking in the background, Miyoung, who is a gumiho, and Jihoon, a mortal, develop a tenuous friendship that blossoms into something more. But when a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead that was lost, the consequences are disastrous and reignite a generations-old feud . . . forcing Miyoung to choose between her immortal life and Jihoon’s.

 

November is here! Click here to see what’s hitting shelves

#ReaderLove

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

Need a break from all the Halloween horror? We’ve got you! Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just as … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo. Scroll down to read an excerpt! How I Got My Name Sarai  Let’s start the story where abandon meets faith. Aight, so, boom. … Continued
See More

10 of the most iconic YA friendships!

What do we love about YA books? EPIC PLOTS? Well, yes. SWOONY LOVE INTERESTS? Also yes, but that’s not what we’re talking about right now… We love a complex, unforgettable friendship (and friend group!) So we’re listing 10 of the most iconic friendships in YA books!   Flyy Girls by Ashley Woodfolk Lux, Micah, Noelle, and … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More

These laugh-out-loud books are GUARANTEED to make you smile

Whether you had a bad day, lost your favorite bookmark, or are grieving the tragic death of your favorite fictional character, we have a few books that are GUARANTEED to make you smile. So scroll down for some of our favorite reads with witty characters, hilarious banter, and all around good vibes.   The Other … Continued
See More

Readers cannot handle GODDESS IN THE MACHINE

When Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson hit shelves (and also our feelings), it was a lot for the book world to handle. This read is FULL of enough plot twists and revelations to keep your head spinning into 2022 (or, in Andra’s case, the year 3102). Here are just a few readers who agree! … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! 8 YA books that take a serious turn!

Love a mind boggling plot twist? These 8 YA books take a SERIOUS turn, and are guaranteed to be living in your head rent free for weeks to come!   Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain When we say plot twist, we actually mean plot twist after plot twist. NOTHING is as it seems … Continued
See More

YA Retellings we are OBSESSED with

Do you love classic lit, fairytales, and legends? We think you’d adore these modern retellings!   Love Camelot? Try…   The Other Merlin by Robyn Schneider Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on … Continued
See More

Bisexual Books To Add Your TBR

Today is #BiVisibilityDay! So we’re recommending some of our favorite reads with bi rep. These books highlight bisexual characters in kickass adventures and swoon-worthy love stories that are perfect for your shelf!   Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an openly gay track star falls … Continued
See More

Read an Excerpt of Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Darius the Great is BACK in paperback and we already have hearts coming out of our eyes. In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It’s everything he’s ever wanted–but what if he deserves better? Scroll down to … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP