Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Series to Binge-Read If You Need an Escape

SHARE

Looking for a stack of books to get totally lost in for a while? Here’s a list of a few of our favorite escape reads!

 

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling kingdoms

If you’re looking for a long, rich fantasy series, this is a great place to start!

About the books: Love, power, and magic collide with war in FALLING KINGDOMS by New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes, a completely gripping epic fantasy series that reads like Game of Thrones for teens.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

warcross

More in the mood for a heart-stopping duology? Warcross is calling your name.

About the books: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

 

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy PB

If you’re looking for a good dash of romance + amazing friendships + badass fights to take you away for a bit, sink your teeth into Vampire Academy!

About the books: Love and loyalty run deeper than blood as Rose dedicates her life to protecting her best friend Lissa from the dangerous undead Strigoi.

 

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Looking for a gripping dystopian sci-fi to keep you holding your breath until book 2 hits shelves? It’s definitely time to pick up War Girls.

About the book: Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

 

 

Matched by Ally Condie

MatchedD_9780593324813_CV_2p.indd

Matched is the dystopian trilogy that is going to give you all the happy nostalgia feels.

About the books: In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Breaking free from it’s pristine confines, Cassia embarks on an epic journey to protect the power of choice and the meaning of true love. An international bestseller, the Matched trilogy is the captivating story of one girl’s movement from acceptance to rebellion.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

71teSaE1vGL

If you’re looking for a cast of characters you’re going to adore as they fight evil and travel the world, this is the series for you.

About the books: The #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, which follows sixteen-year-old Jacob Portman as he journeys from a sleepy Florida suburb to a remote island off the coast of Wales. There he stumbles upon the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s orphanage and discovers the shocking fate of the children who lived there long ago–and may live there still.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

If you’re needing some magic in your life with a dash of sibling rivalry, we recommend picking up A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy while you wait for A Queen of Gilded Horns to hit shelves!

About the book: An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

 

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

This duology is going to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. We recommend reading with a hot cup of tea!

About the book: Darius doesn’t think he’ll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

 

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Perfect if you’re in the mood to take to the seas with a badass crew on their way to fight evil!

About the book: The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of the importance of sisterhood and unity in the face of oppression and tyranny.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AnEmberintheAshes

If you’re needing to escape for a while, An Ember in the Ashes will whisk you away into an incredibly developed fantasy world that will have you deeply invested just a few pages in!

About the books: Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes tells the story of Laia, a slave fighting for her family, and Elias, a young soldier fighting for his freedom.

 

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked-Fox

This duology has all the romance and magic and drama you could ask for, and is guaranteed to take you away as you fall into each chapter!

About the book: With murderous forces lurking in the background, Miyoung, who is a gumiho, and Jihoon, a mortal, develop a tenuous friendship that blossoms into something more. But when a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead that was lost, the consequences are disastrous and reignite a generations-old feud . . . forcing Miyoung to choose between her immortal life and Jihoon’s.

 

November is here! Click here to see what’s hitting shelves

#ReaderLove

Read an excerpt of THE SKY ABOVE US by Natalie Lund!

From the author of We Speak in Storms comes The Sky Above Us a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane crash. The morning after their senior year beach party, Izzy, Cass, and Janie are woken by a thundering overhead. Then they and their classmates watch in shock as a … Continued
See More

YA Retellings we are OBSESSED with

Do you love classic lit, fairytales, and legends? We think you’d like these modern retellings!   Love The Great Gatsby? Try…   Tell Me My Name by Amy Reed We Were Liars meets Speak in this haunting, mesmerizing psychological thriller—a gender-flipped YA Great Gatsby—that will linger long after the final line On wealthy Commodore Island, Fern is watching and waiting—for … Continued
See More

Bookstagram is VERY excited that A Sky Beyond the Storm is here!

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram loves A Sky Beyond the Storm! We saw some BEAUTIFUL photos this week for Sabaa Tahir’s finale to the An Ember in the Ashes Quartet, and here are just a few! (Don’t worry, this is spoiler-free!)   From old and new cover love… View this post on Instagram A post … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Passing Playbook

Love, Simon meets Bend It Like Beckham in this feel-good contemporary romance about a trans athlete who must decide between fighting for is right to play and staying stealth. Scroll down to read an excerpt of The Passing Playbook! One Spencer’s morning went to hell when some asshole on a dirt bike swerved in front of Mom’s Subaru. Mom … Continued
See More

It’s official: Twitter absolutely cannot wait for BEASTS OF PREY by Ayana Gray!

Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray hits shelves this September…but some of us are REALLY struggling to wait that long. And after the stunning cover reveal and excerpt on Oprah Magazine, here are just a few readers who instantly fell in love with the cover, and need this book asap!   To kick us off, the most … Continued
See More

Books we’re so thankful for this year

2020 gave us a LOT of amazing reads, so we’re sharing just a few that we’re so thankful for this year!   The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs   We are so thankful to return to the world of the peculiars, and are counting down the days to The Desolations of Devil’s Acre!   … Continued
See More

It’s been 1 month since the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series finale, and here’s what readers are saying

It’s been 1 month since the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series finale The Desolations of Devil’s Acre hit shelves, and we’re all having a lot of emotions over it. Some people are recovering, some are re-reading, some are still reading and savoring each word for the first time. So we’re sharing what readers are saying on social media … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe follows Nora O’Malley’s, who has been a lot of girls. As the daughter of a con-artist who targets criminal men, she grew up as her mother’s protégé. But when her mom fell for the mark instead of conning him, Nora pulled the ultimate con: escape. For five years Nora’s been … Continued
See More

5 Reasons it’s time to read FIREBORNE

Fireborne is the Game of Thrones meets Red Rising fantasy you’re going to cuddle up with (hot beverage and warm blanket required…tissues strongly encouraged) and read straight through. It’s intense, it’s complex, it’s rich with characters and relationships that will break you and that is just the TIP of the iceberg. Here are five (how did we … Continued
See More

5 Bi Romances To Swoon Over

Valentine’s Day is around the corner, and love is in the air! So we’re recommending some of our favorite romance reads. These five books – including a 2021 release you definitely need to add to your TBR – highlight bisexual characters in swoon-worthy love stories to have on your shelf!   The Girls I’ve Been by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP