Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Series to Binge-Read If You Need an Escape

SHARE

Looking for a stack of books to get totally lost in for a while? Here’s a list of a few of our favorite escape reads!

 

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling kingdoms

If you’re looking for a long, rich fantasy series, this is a great place to start!

About the books: Love, power, and magic collide with war in FALLING KINGDOMS by New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes, a completely gripping epic fantasy series that reads like Game of Thrones for teens.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

warcross

More in the mood for a heart-stopping duology? Warcross is calling your name.

About the books: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

 

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy PB

If you’re looking for a good dash of romance + amazing friendships + badass fights to take you away for a bit, sink your teeth into Vampire Academy!

About the books: Love and loyalty run deeper than blood as Rose dedicates her life to protecting her best friend Lissa from the dangerous undead Strigoi.

 

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Looking for a gripping dystopian sci-fi to keep you holding your breath until book 2 hits shelves? It’s definitely time to pick up War Girls.

About the book: Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

 

 

Matched by Ally Condie

MatchedD_9780593324813_CV_2p.indd

Matched is the dystopian trilogy that is going to give you all the happy nostalgia feels.

About the books: In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Breaking free from it’s pristine confines, Cassia embarks on an epic journey to protect the power of choice and the meaning of true love. An international bestseller, the Matched trilogy is the captivating story of one girl’s movement from acceptance to rebellion.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

71teSaE1vGL

If you’re looking for a cast of characters you’re going to adore as they fight evil and travel the world, this is the series for you.

About the books: The #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, which follows sixteen-year-old Jacob Portman as he journeys from a sleepy Florida suburb to a remote island off the coast of Wales. There he stumbles upon the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s orphanage and discovers the shocking fate of the children who lived there long ago–and may live there still.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

If you’re needing some magic in your life with a dash of sibling rivalry, we recommend picking up A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy while you wait for A Queen of Gilded Horns to hit shelves!

About the book: An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

 

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

This duology is going to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. We recommend reading with a hot cup of tea!

About the book: Darius doesn’t think he’ll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

 

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Perfect if you’re in the mood to take to the seas with a badass crew on their way to fight evil!

About the book: The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of the importance of sisterhood and unity in the face of oppression and tyranny.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AnEmberintheAshes

If you’re needing to escape for a while, An Ember in the Ashes will whisk you away into an incredibly developed fantasy world that will have you deeply invested just a few pages in!

About the books: Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes tells the story of Laia, a slave fighting for her family, and Elias, a young soldier fighting for his freedom.

 

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked-Fox

This duology has all the romance and magic and drama you could ask for, and is guaranteed to take you away as you fall into each chapter!

About the book: With murderous forces lurking in the background, Miyoung, who is a gumiho, and Jihoon, a mortal, develop a tenuous friendship that blossoms into something more. But when a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead that was lost, the consequences are disastrous and reignite a generations-old feud . . . forcing Miyoung to choose between her immortal life and Jihoon’s.

 

November is here! Click here to see what’s hitting shelves

#ReaderLove

5 Bi Romances To Swoon Over

Valentine’s Day is around the corner, and love is in the air! So we’re recommending some of our favorite romance reads. These five books – including a 2021 release you definitely need to add to your TBR – highlight bisexual characters in swoon-worthy love stories to have on your shelf!   The Girls I’ve Been by … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes: Most Romantic Moments

It would be impossible to choose our favorite romantic moment from Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series. So we’ve narrowed it down to our top five! In continuation of our #EmberCountdown to A Sky Beyond the Storm, here are the most romantic moments from An Ember in the Ashes so far!   SPOILERS AHEAD for An … Continued
See More

Start reading The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante!

We’ve been celebrating amazing stories by Latinx authors, and today we’re excited to share another stunning read for #LatinxHeritageMonth! The Grief Keeper is a gorgeous YA debut and a timely, heartfelt narrative about healing, faith, and freedom. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter 1 We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that … Continued
See More

Bookstagram is VERY excited that A Sky Beyond the Storm is here!

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram loves A Sky Beyond the Storm! We saw some BEAUTIFUL photos this week for Sabaa Tahir’s finale to the An Ember in the Ashes Quartet, and here are just a few! (Don’t worry, this is spoiler-free!)   From old and new cover love… View this post on Instagram A post … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes Quartet: Our Favorite Series Quotes!

Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series is notoriously full of quotes that make our hearts sing (and break) at the same time. So before A Sky Beyond the Storm hits shelves and gives us a hundred more quotes that we’ll immediately want to wallpaper every surface in sight with, here’s a recap of our favorite Ember quotes so … Continued
See More

Ember Read-Along: Month 3 Recap

The third and final month of our #EmberReadAlong has come to an end! Check out the wrap-up and highlights below!   Some of our favorite BookTube + Bookstagram posts! BookTube had lots of love for A Reaper at the Gates! Once you’ve caught up with reading or re-reading the book, be sure to add these … Continued
See More

Books we’re so thankful for this year

2020 gave us a LOT of amazing reads, so we’re sharing just a few that we’re so thankful for this year!   The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs   We are so thankful to return to the world of the peculiars, and are counting down the days to The Desolations of Devil’s Acre!   … Continued
See More

10 Years of Matched by Ally Condie

Matched by Ally Condie came out–get ready for this–ten years ago! Over those ten years, it has captured the hearts of countless readers. With the release of the Matched Deluxe Edition, we decided to share some of our favorite moments from over the years!   This book has come a long way since it’s launch party! This snapshot … Continued
See More

Bookstagram can’t wait to read Rebel Sisters!

Rebel Sisters landed on shelves last week, and we’ve seen it in some STUNNING posts on Bookstagram. We couldn’t resist spotlighting a few of our fave posts!   “Sci-fi and fantasy weren’t genres that I seriously explored until recently, aka this year — I didn’t exactly see myself in the stories or characters. I’m thankful … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

It’s Scorpio Season, so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Just LOOK AT THE COVER. And I will fight anyone who tries to tell me Kasta isn’t a Scorpio. About the book: Perfect for fans … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP