Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

12 Books to Quench Your Fairy Tale Thirst

SHARE

Are you looking for a little more magic in your life? Are there not enough Disney movies or Once Upon a Time seasons to keep you satisfied? Look no further: Our little questionnaire will help you figure out exactly which books will satisfy your fairy tale cravings.

 

Are you feeling in touch with your bad side this week?

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao: This book is an East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress– and the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny.

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes out October 10th. Pre-order your copy here!

 

Is your preferred means of transportation a magic carpet?

FAIRYTALES1

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury: When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years. When the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: In this richly imagined retelling of 1001 Arabian Nights, Shazi won’t let the fact that Khalid’s brides never make it until morning stop her from seeking her revenge.

 

Do you need another lesson in stranger danger?

FAIRYTALES2

Little Miss Red by Robin Palmer: When Sophie sets off to Florida to visit her grandma Roz, she finds herself seated next to a wolfishly good-looking guy on the plane. The two hit it off, and before she knows it, Sophie’s living on the edge. But is the drama all it’s cracked up to be?

Kin by Lili St. Crow: A killer stalks the city streets, and it looks like their next target is Ruby. Now she’s about to find out that the charming Conrad’s secrets go deeper than she thought—and it’s up to Ruby to save her Gran, her clan, and maybe even herself….

 

Do you wish you could stay this young and awesome forever?

fairytales8

Never Ever by Sara Saedi: New Yorker Wylie Dalton didn’t believe in fairy tales or love at first sight…until she met a real-life Peter Pan. And when he whisks Wylie and her brothers off to a mysterious tropical island, all of her worries about real life are whisked away – but someone on the island is lying to her, and the truth can’t stay hidden forever.

 

Intrigued by fairy magic?

fairytales3

The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull: This stunningly atmospheric novel follows Clare as she moves back to Ireland and discovers that fairy magic is more real than she ever imagined.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff: A lot of teenagers feel like they might not belong, but Mackie knows for sure that he doesn’t. He’s a replacement, a fae child left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago–one whose allergies to blood and iron have him fighting to survive in the human world.

 

Do you think that whole “an apple a day” thing is a total myth?

fairytales4

Nameless by Lili St. Crow: Cami was raised to be an heiress to a powerful magical family. When she meets the mysterious Tor, she begins to uncover the mysterious secrets of her birth…ones that might threaten her life as she knows it.

 

Is dating making you tired of the phrase, “You have to kiss a few frogs…”?

FAIRYTALES5

Geek Charming by Robin Palmer: When L.A. princess Dylan Schoenfield accidentally tosses her bag into a fountain, this princess comes face-to-face with her own personal frog: self professed film geek Josh Rosen. When Dylan’s so-called prince charming of a boyfriend dumps her flat, her life–and her social status–comes to a crashing halt. Can Dylan pull the pieces together to create her own happily-ever-after?

 

Would you consider yourself a heavy sleeper?

FAIRYTALES6

Spindle’s End by Robin McKinley: The evil fairy Pernicia has set a curse on Princess Briar-Rose: she is fated to prick her finger on a spinning wheel and fall into an endless sleep. Young fairy Katriona kidnaps the princess to save her, but Pernicia lies in waiting, intent on revenge for a four hundred-year-old grudge.

 

Do you have a shoe addiction that won’t quit?

FAIRYTALES7

Wayfarer by Lili St. Crow: Newly orphaned, isolated, and terrified of her violent stepmother, Ellen Sinder still believes she’ll be okay. She has a plan for surviving high school, but when a train arrives carrying a golden boy and a new stepsister, all of Ellie’s plans begin to unravel.

Cindy Ella by Robin Palmer: Prom fever has infected LA—especially Cindy’s two annoying stepsisters, and her overly Botoxed stepmother. Cindy, immune to the prom bug, pens an anti-prom letter that everyone hates–everyone except her two best friends and her crush, Adam Silver. With a little bit of help from an unexpected source and a fabulous pair of heels, Cindy realizes that she still has a chance at a happily ever after.

 

Ready for more? Try these 8 retellings you’ll feel guilty for liking better than the original!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP