Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Books That Aren’t Afraid to Go There

SHARE

Sometimes it’s easy to think YA books are all light and fluffy. It’s easy to forget that The Outsiders, arguably a YA genre instigator for a lot of the books we know and love today, wasn’t all that light and fluffy at all, and that YA books have been providing windows and mirrors for teens dealing with all sorts of topics since YA came to be, ranging from the fantastically wild to the emotionally heavy. So, here are a few of those books that aren’t afraid to go there.

 

Rosie Girl by Julie Shepard

A dead father, an abusive stepmother, a best friend who turns tricks, and a search for a missing birth mother – Rosie Girl was never going to pull any punches. And the plot twist? Yeah. It went there.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater, an indentured aki, who slays sin-beasts for those who are corrupt and can pay others to take on their guilt. A fantastic magical world, a conspiracy to destroy his city, and a fight to save the princess he loves – Beasts Made of Night goes there even before you factor in all the powerful commentary on guilt and justice. The sequel to this compelling series, Crown of Thunder is no exception to the goes-there rule.

 

Forest of A Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

9781524738310_ForestLanterns_FTCV.indd

Okay, being that Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is a retelling of the Evil Queen, it’s safe to assume this one isn’t light and fluffy to begin with. Add in Xifeng’s dark journey to the throne and you’ve got a fairytale that really went there.

 

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

Kingdom-of-the-Blazing-Phoenix-COVER

Julie Dao went there again, guys. She went there x2.

 

The Merciless Series by Danielle Vega

Considering The Merciless is basically Mean Girls meets The Exorcist…well, come on. You always knew this book was going to go there.

 

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

The New York Times probably put it best when they wrote, “The Outsiders transformed young-adult fiction from a genre mostly about prom queens, football players and high school crushes to one that portrayed a darker, truer world.”

Basically, The Outsiders is, in a lot of ways, the first YA book that went there, and we still love it today.

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

The Valiant doesn’t shy away from anything. This feminist fantasy full of epic battles and betrayal goes there only a few chapters in, and stays there. We expect nothing less of the third and final installment, The Triumphantcoming in February of 2019!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Think the Hunger Games was harsh? In Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes, defying the Emperor means Game of Thrones-level retribution.

 

Wildcard by Marie Lu

Wildcard

We’ve all fallen for that swoony love interest in our favorite YA series at some point. But what if it just so happened that that swoony love interest had some less-than-redeeming qualities? You know, the take-over-the-world-and-control-everyone type. Yeah, it goes there.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

A thrilling quest for revenge set in Kenya, City of Saints & Thieves is one captivating twist after another as Tina determines just how far she’ll go to get vengeance for her mother’s death.

 

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

A brilliant coming-of-age story, Grasshopper Jungle tackles the struggles of recession-era small-town America. And also, the struggles of facing an unstoppable army of hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises.

 

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn

Author Stephanie Kuehn has a doctorate in psychology, so when we call this a twisty psychological thriller, you know we mean business. A group of teens from a dead-end town going camping for a weekend is a recipe for trouble, but when you add in a suspicious group of fellow campers, a loaded gun, and the wrath of Mother Nature…well, you’ll just have to find out what happened from Ben, who has plenty of time to tell the story—from his jail cell.

 

Check out the cover reveal and first excerpt for Patron Saints of Nothing for the next YA read that’s sure to go there.

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP