Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

PLOT TWIST! 8 YA books that take a serious turn!

SHARE

Love a mind boggling plot twist? These 8 YA books take a SERIOUS turn, and are guaranteed to be living in your head rent free for weeks to come!

 

Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain

DarkShallowLies_ONLINE

When we say plot twist, we actually mean plot twist after plot twist. NOTHING is as it seems in La Cachette.

 

Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray

beasts of prey

We won’t give anything away, but the last third of this book will leave you in SHAMBLES.

 

Devil in the Device by Lora Beth Johnson

Devil in the Device

After blowing our minds in Goddess in the Machine, we thought Lora Beth Johnson might have mercy on our minds/hearts in book 2. NOPE. Get ready to unpack layer after layer of conspiracy and plot twists in Devil in the Device!

 

The Taking of Jake Livingston by Ryan Douglass

JakeLivingston_Online

This book is as twisty as the eerie underworld Jake stumbles into. This is the PERFECT October read!

 

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

Arguably one of the most talked about plot twists of 2021, so if you haven’t been spoiled, it’s time to get in on the hype ASAP!

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Warcriss

It’s not a Marie Lu novel without a heart-shattering plot twist, now is it?!

 

Tell Me My Name by Amy Reed

Tell Me My Name

Think a retelling of The Great Gatsby but with a twist that will take you weeks to recover from.

 

They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman

they'll never catch us

This murder mystery thriller will have you on the EDGE of your seat until the very last plot twisty page!

 

Did you hear? Beasts of Prey is coming to Netflix! Here’s what we know so far

#ReaderLove

Excerpt alert: start reading I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW by Claire Ahn!

For fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Loveboat Taipei, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance. Scroll down to read a sneak peek of I Guess I Live Here … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

League of Liars by Astrid Scholte is coming to shelves THIS MONTH! In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

That cute holiday romance read you were looking for? It’s right here. Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just … Continued
See More

All My Rage Transformed My Idea of the American Dream

All My Rage is a powerful, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting contemporary novel from Sabaa Tahir, on shelves now. We asked Samawia Akhter, a BookToker and superfan of the book, to share about the impact that All My Rage had on her. Keep scrolling to see what Samawia said!   View this post on Instagram A … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

2022 Epic Fantasy Covers We’re OBSESSED With

2022 is killing it in the fantasy cover arena. Here are just a few of our favs so far! League of Liars by Astrid Scholte This cover honestly gives us chills. Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes  The box. The magic. The title treatment. The everything. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor We can’t get over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Sunny G’s brother left him one thing when he died: His notebook, which Sunny is determined to fill up with a series of rash decisions. Decision number one was … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: ALL MY RAGE by Sabaa Tahir

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram is loving All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir! Scroll down to see some of our favorite bookish posts so far and what reviewers are saying!   “I’m simultaneously so excited to start and also emotionally unprepared ” — @abookishmarriage View this post on Instagram A post shared by Hillary (@abookishmarriage)   “I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ECHOES AND EMPIRES by Morgan Rhodes

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret Rogerson. Scroll down to start reading Echoes and Empires, on shelves January 4, 2022! The sound of a crash from around the corner drew my attention. I … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP