Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The 8 Don’t-Miss Books of 2017 Thus Far

SHARE

As we head into the last days of August (sob), we’re taking a look back at the biggest books so far this year. We want to make sure you didn’t miss adding any of these awesome reads to your TBR!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and supenseful with a tough, smart heroine.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Bookpage called We Are Okay “a beautiful, devastating piece of art” and readers agree: this bittersweet and hopeful story about grief will make you feel everything.

 

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

An instant New York Times bestseller, Nemesis is a riveting thriller about a girl who is murdered every two years on her birthday and the conspiracy she’s about to uncover.

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

Filled with strong female characters, action and adventure, and beautiful storytelling, this fantasy set in feudal Japan offers a world you’ll want to escape into forever.

 

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

The love story of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler has spent all summer on the New York Times bestseller list for good reason – it’s a charming historical romance that’s a page-turner even if you’re not a #Hamilfan.

 

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Hailed as the queen of Young Adult literature, Sarah Dessen delivers a richly satisfying romance with an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after in her latest novel.

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

This heart-pounding tale of magic and mystery has been called “the Nigerian Harry Potter.” You may recognize Nnedi Okorafor as the author of Who Fears Death, which Game of Thrones mastermind George R.R. Martin will serve as executive producer for on HBO!

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

This gorgeous, twisty story is about things gone missing, things returned from the past, and a group of teenagers connected in ways they could never have imagined.

 

 

 

Want a chance to win them all? Enter here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP