Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Use the Scare-O-Meter to find your PERFECT Halloween read!

SHARE

Halloween is just around that corner, and we are SO read-y for all the Halloween reads and scares! While we know some of you are here for those up-all-night chilling chapters, we know that others may be looking to get some shut-eye after that last chapter. So, we’ve broken our favorite Halloween reads into three degrees of scary!

Up all night? Nightlight status? Sleep like a baby? Choose your perfect read and degree of scary below!

 

WickedReads2020_IndieSocialAssets_25721_UpAllNight_Twitter

 

The Haunted by Danielle Vega

THE-HAUNTED-paperback

From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places.

 

The Unleashed by Danielle Vega

THE-UNLEASHED-cover

In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

There's-Someone-Inside-Your-House

It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.

Then, one by one, the students of her small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets.

 

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis

Harrow-Lake-COVER

Lola Nox is the daughter of a celebrated horror filmmaker–she thinks nothing can scare her.

But when her father is brutally attacked in their New York apartment, she’s quickly packed off to live with a grandmother she’s never met in Harrow Lake, the eerie town where her father’s most iconic horror movie was shot. The more Lola discovers about the town, the more terrifying it becomes. Because Lola’s got secrets of her own. And if she can’t find a way out of Harrow Lake, they might just be the death of her.

 

 

WickedReads2020_IndieSocialAssets_25721_NightlightStatus_Twitter

 

The Companion by Katie Alender

companion

The other orphans say Margot is lucky. But it wasn’t luck that made the Suttons rescue Margot from her bleak existence at the group home.  Margot was handpicked to be a companion to their silent, mysterious daughter, Agatha. At first, helping with Agatha–and getting to know her handsome older brother–seems much better than the group home. But soon, the isolated, gothic house begins playing tricks on Margot’s mind, making her question everything she believes about the Suttons . . . and herself.

 

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

THEY-WISH-THEY-WERE-US

TV adaptation The Players’ Table starring Sydney Sweeney and Halsey currently in development!

Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island.

 

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight.

 

The Damned by Renée Ahdieh

The-Damned

Following the events of The Beautiful, Sébastien Saint Germain is now cursed and forever changed. The treaty between the Fallen and the Brotherhood has been broken, and war between the immortals seems imminent.

Forces hiding in the shadows have been patiently waiting for this moment. And just as Bastien and Celine begin to uncover the danger around them, they learn their love could tear them apart.

 

MEME by Aaron Starmer

MEME

Cole Weston—former friend, former boyfriend—has become dangerous, erratic. Something needs to be done. Getting rid of Cole is practically a public service. So high school seniors Holly Morse, Grayson Hobbs, Logan Bailey, and Meeka Miller devise a plan. Kill Cole. Bury him in the woods behind Meeka’s house. Bury him deep, deep in the ground along with four old cell phones, wiped except for their video confession as insurance that no one will ever betray the group. Everything is perfect, until the meme appears. It’s a screenshot from their confession… a confession that’s supposed to be entombed with Cole forever in the cold Vermont dirt.

 

WickedReads2020_IndieSocialAssets_25721_SleepLikeBaby_Twitter

 

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

girls-save-the-world-in-this-one

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse.

 

A Wicked Magic by Sasha Laurens

A-Wicked-Magic-COVER

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina meets The Craft when modern witches must save teens stolen by an ancient demon in this YA fantasy-thriller debut.

 

These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling

TheseWitchesDon'tBurn_final

 

This Coven Won’t Break by Isabel Sterling

This-Coven-Won't-Break_FINAL-COVER

In this gripping, romantic sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn, Hannah must work alongside her new girlfriend to take down the Hunters desperate to steal her magic.

 

Want to win a stack of all three degrees of scary reads? Enter our sweepstakes here!

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Excerpt Alert: Super Fake Love Song

From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a young adult romantic comedy about identity and acceptance: Super Fake Love Song! We are so in love with this book, and we think you will be too. Scroll down to read the moment when Sunny (accidentally) became a rockstar. Gray’s door was always open, because that’s … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes Quartet: Evilest Villains Ranked

Sabaa Tahir is the master of creating characters we love…and characters we hate. So, here are the cruelest villains of An Ember in the Ashes, ranked from least to most evil!   SPOILERS AHEAD for An Ember in the Ashes, A Torch Against the Night, and A Reaper at the Gates!    5. Mazen via GIPHY We … Continued
See More

See the new covers for FLAMEFALL and FIREBORNE by Rosaria Munda

Today we’re revealing the cover for Flamefall by Rosaria Munda AND the brand new paperback cover for Fireborne! Fireborne absolutely took our breath away last year, and we are EAGERLY anticipating book 2, Flamefall, coming March 23, 2021! But until then, we have an excerpt and an author Q&A to hold you over while you wait for book 2 and gaze at … Continued
See More

Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

While shopping is DEFINITELY a bit *different* this year, Black Friday is still notoriously a wild time. One of those days that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good books to recover from. But luckily, we’ve got you covered. Here are our top 5 Black Friday recovery reads!   1. Let It … Continued
See More

War Girls: The Recap

Diving into Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi this week? We’ve got you covered with our recap of what happened in the first book in the duology, War Girls!   Then: 2172 As War Girls begins, the future is a time of strife. Civil war rages between Nigeria and the fledgling Republic of New Biafra. Sixteen-year-old … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Rules for Vanishing got a glow-up!

Our favorite scary mixed-media Blair Witch Project-vibes novel just got a glow-up! Rules for Vanishing is back with a brand new paperback cover and we officially have chills. Scroll down to see the new cover and read a bit about the book! Jacket & cover design by Kristin Boyle   About Rules for Vanishing: In the faux-documentary … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes: Most Heartstopping Moments

An Ember in the Ashes is NOTORIOUS for keeping us on the edge of our seats (and VERY concerned for our favorite characters.) So, in continued celebration of our #EmberCountdown to A Sky Beyond the Storm, here are our top 10 MOST heartstopping moments from the series!   SPOILERS AHEAD for An Ember in the Ashes, A Torch … Continued
See More

5 Reasons SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG is going to be your new jam

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, hits shelves THIS TUESDAY. We are obsessed with this book, and here are just a *few* reasons we think you will be too!   1. Punny names via GIPHY Sunny Dae? Grey Dae? Cirrus?! We are obsessed.   2. Lovable nerds via GIPHY Sunny and his … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi

Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi is one of our most highly-anticipated reads of 2021, and we’re revealing the cover TODAY! Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the ultimate date to homecoming in this heartfelt and outright hilarious debut. Scroll down to see the gorgeous cover and read an early excerpt!   For someone … Continued
See More

2021 Cover Reveal Bonanza!

It’s time to drop some COVERS! Today, we are revealing not one, not two, but SIX new 2021 book covers. We may have even snatched an excerpt for each of these new reads for you to get an early taste of each one–so get that TBR ready! New books will be added here as they are revealed, so … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP