Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Hottest Debuts Coming this Summer!

SHARE

Summer reading, had me a blast… read on for seven amazing debuts coming out this summer that we can’t wait for!

 

Perfect Ten by L. Philips

Does a Perfect Ten exist? Classic rom-com-meets-Freaky Friday feels in this delightful story about small town teen romance with an unexpected twist. What’s a boy to do when he breaks it off with the only other gay guy in his high school? Sam Raines knows he’s in for a romantic drought, but when his ex-Catholic Wiccan best friend Meg suggests a love spell, he’s just desperate enough to give it a try. The resulting misadventure—with a dollop of magical realism—is as sweet and satisfying as ice cream on a summer day.

 

The Girl in Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: June 20 

Told in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, The Girl in Between is a moving debut about the fears and joys and questions of a young person in difficult circumstances. The novel is a can’t-put-down, unpredictable, and heart-wrenching story for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room. 

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: April 25

From getting her first sloppy kiss to narrowly escaping a bear attack, from her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to becoming an accidental viral sensation in Malta, Buzzfeed editor Erin Chack hilariously captures the agony and the ecstasy of the millennial experience in this sharply-observed essay collection. Hysterically funny and heartbreakingly poignant, This is Really Happening shows Erin is the Sloane Crosley for the Snapchat generation.

 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz

On sale: May 2

In this debut novel from Dana Schwartz (the bitingly funny mind behind the @GuyInYourMFA and @DystopianYA twitter feeds), seventeen-year-old artist Nora Holmes’s travel plans are upended when her mom abruptly decides to join her on her summer trip across Europe. A perfect read for fans of Gilmore Girls, And We’re Off is filled with classic coming-of-age drama, an irresistible mother/daughter dynamic, and a swoon-worthy summer romance.

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: May 30

Sixty-five days after the death of her older sister, sixteen-year-old Juniper Lemon discovers a break-up letter she left behind. In searching for the intended recipient, Juniper begins to unearth other notes and secrets—and find that tracing them back may be just what she needs to sort out her own mess. Funny, warm, and moving, Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index is a novel about loss, how deeply we can know others, and making our own happiness.

 

 

This Impossible Light by Lily Myers

On sale: June 6

One summer changed nearly everything about fifteen-year-old Ivy’s life. Then one missed meal makes her feel in control. Then another. But what initially feels empowering quickly becomes threatening, and soon Ivy must weigh her mother’s issues against her own, and discover what it means to be her own person. Told in lyrical verse, this debut novel from Lily Myers, the viral YouTube sensation behind the slam poem “Shrinking Women,” explores the powerful reality that identity and self-worth must be taught before they can be learned.

 

Rosie Girl byJulie Shepard

On sale: July 11

Little Peach meets We Were Liars in this haunting YA debut about a troubled teen searching for her birth mom who uncovers disturbing family secrets along the way. A visceral, poignant tale of friendship, sacrifice and identity, Rosie Girl is an unforgettable debut that will leave you guessing till the very last page.

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are some romances to heat up your summer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   People Like Us by Dana Mele Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, … Continued
See More

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if America had lost the Revolutionary War? The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Roberton (Cremer) After years … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More

Boxsets You Need to Binge

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxsets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns, … Continued
See More

4 O.G. YA Romances That Must Be Remembered

For many of us book nerds, YA romances were what helped us start to learn what love is. (The PINING. Oh, that unforgettable PINING. 💔) If you’re looking for some romances to cozy up with indoors right now, then we’re here to remind you of some of the ORIGINAL YA romances that some of us … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Dancing at the Pity Party: Sneak Peek!

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder is part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life. From before her mother’s first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

10 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   The Love that Split the World by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP