Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Best Moms of YA!

SHARE

It’s Mother’s Day and so we’ve been thinking:

There are a lot of awesome moms in YA. So here’s a quick shoutout to five of the best!

 

Rose’s mom, Vampire Academy

Vampire Academy PB

Rose’s mom, Janine, is (to put it simply) a badass. Even if Rose and her haven’t always had the most easygoing relationship, let’s admit it: fighting evil vampires with your mom is the ultimate bonding time.

 

Laia’s Mom, An Ember in the Ashes

AnEmberintheAshes

We could talk about how amazing and epic Laia’s mom is, but we can probably sum it up with this amazing quote from A Reaper in the Gates: 

“Curse this world for what it does to the mothers, for what it does to the daughters. Curse it for making us strong through loss and pain, our hearts torn from our chests again and again. Curse it for forcing us to endure.”

What no we’re not crying you’re crying

 

Anna’s mom, Anna and the French Kiss

Anna-and-the-French-Kiss-COVER

We’re basically just really, really grateful Anna’s mom shipped her off to Paris. We love a YA mom who sends her daughter off on the beautiful adventure of a LIFETIME. *plans re-read*

 

Mrs. Bennet, Pride and Prejudice

pride

You have to admit: this classic just wouldn’t be the same without Mrs. Bennet. Love her or hate her, this lady is hilarious and the epitome of that mom who loves to ask “Sooo…are you dating anyone?”

 

Simon’s Mom, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon

You know what? Not just Simon’s mom. We love this ENTIRE AMAZING FAMILY. We were just looking for an excuse to say that.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more aMAYzing books? Check out all the books hitting shelves this month here!

#ReaderLove

Best of Bookstagram: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

You’ve probably noticed one of the most gorgeous covers of 2020 rolling around bookstagram, and we couldn’t help but round some of our favorites up to share! Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back follows the untold story of Nannerl Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. But … Continued
See More

What to read while desperately waiting for P.S. I Still Love You

The first look photos for P.S. I Still Love You on Netflix are in and WE HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS.   P.S. I Still Love You first looks…are y’all ready?! https://t.co/9LHm3S06s3 pic.twitter.com/sE5MLLosUV — Jenny Han (@jennyhan) December 12, 2019 More Lara Jean? First love? Friends to lovers? We need it. But waiting is hard, … Continued
See More

Readers who are LOVING The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys!

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is quickly becoming a 2019 favorite, and it’s pretty easy to see why.   From this heartfelt review     to this extremely relatable tweet 37 pgs into #thefountainsofsilence and like the rest of @RutaSepetys books, it is amazing. I would read the back of shampoo bottles if she … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: We Walked the Sky Paperback Cover!

We Walked the Sky by Lisa Fiedler has a new cover and it’s pretty hard to take your eyes off it 👀 Check out the new paperback cover below!     New to We Walked the Sky? Here’s a bit about the book!   In 1965 seventeen-year-old Victoria, having just escaped an unstable home, flees to the ultimate … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: Juliet Takes a Breath

Welcome back to Best of #Bookstagram! This week, we’re sharing our favorite photos that we’ve seen lately of Gabby Rivera’s Juilet Takes a Breath, the story of Juliet learning what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, and to herself.   From this simple beauty, View this post on Instagram A post shared by Allison … Continued
See More

Quotes from Frankly in Love we’re frankly in love with

Frankly in Love is quickly making its way onto the instant YA classics list, and one of our favorite things about it is that it’s one of those books with The Quotes. The ones you want to pluck out and either hang on a wall or sew on a pillow. Either way, we love these lines and … Continued
See More

People who are sooo not prepared for THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS

The Conference of the Birds, aka the fifth installment in Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series, is getting ready to bless our shelves and we cannot WAIT. A Map of Days left us reeling with MANY questions, and they’re all getting answered this Tuesday! But first, here are just a few fans who are not … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week we’re reading All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor. The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Moe and Henry were waiting for us … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate, perfect for fans of If I Stay and One of Us is Lying. Read the excerpt below! Autumn On a scale of one to ten, my desire to talk to the cops who’ve spent the last twenty minutes digging through my locker is a raging neg-ative … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

It’s Scorpio season so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall Scorpios are EASILY bored. Like, really, really easily. And when we get bored, we plot. Or hold grudges. That’s why Scorpios should … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP