Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

YA Protagonists who will 100% outsmart you

SHARE

We all love a badass protagonist, and here are just a few of our favs from YA who are always two steps ahead!

 

Jo from The Downstairs Girl

TheDownstairsGirl

By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of a newspaper advice column for the genteel Southern lady, “Dear Miss Sweetie.” Jo knows the power of the pen, and exactly how to use it.

 

 

Emika from Warcross

warcross

Never mess with a hacker, especially one who’s willing to hack the system from the inside out.

 

Nora from The Girls I’ve Been

girlsivebeen_online

Nora has lived many lives, and these bank robbers have NO idea who they’ve taken hostage.

 

Caledonia from Stormbreak

Stormbreak_Online[1]

Caledonia has been through a lot to get here, but she’s not done yet. In Stormbreak, she’ll risk her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir and take back the Bullet Seas once and for all.

 

Onyii and Ify from War Girls 

war-girls-cover

Onyii’s cleverness + Ify’s skills as a tech genius = sister dream team.

 

Poe from The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe

LastVoyageOfPoe_CV_0p.indd

Poe has nothing left to lose. She wants vengeance, and she has the skill set to get it.

 

Laia, Helene, and Elias from An Ember in the Ashes

AnEmberintheAshes

There’s so much brilliance in these three we don’t even know where to start.

 

Viola from Renegade Flight 

RenegadeFl_9781984835123_BOM__1p.indd

Vi is pretty epic. Especially when what starts out as a ploy to save her reputation turns into a fight for the future of Peacekeepers everywhere, and if Vi can’t master her mech combat skills, she might not survive the battle.

 

Annie and Lee from Fireborne

Fireborne_ONLINE

Annie and Lee have never had it easy, and they’ve had to fight to reach the top of the ranks as dragon riders. But the fight is far from over.

 

Sophia from Our Last Echoes 

Our Last Echoes

Sophia is on a mission to find out exactly what happened to her mom at Bitter Rock all those years ago, and she won’t stop until she does.

 

Eva from A River of Royal Blood

river of royal blood

Eva has always had to compete with her sister, Isa. But she’ll need to be smarter, stronger, and just as brutal as her sister in order to win the throne.

 

Shadow from The Queen’s Assassin

QueensAssassin_ONLINE

Shadow of the Honey Glade has been training all her life to join the Guild, and when the kingdom is put under attack, she and Cal will be forced to uncover a shocking web of lies that will change their paths forever.

 

Coming soon…

Valora from Luck of the Titanic – Coming May 4th

LuckoftheTitanic_CV_ONLINE

As a stowaway on the Titanic, Val should keep her head down and stay out of sight. But the clock is ticking and she has just seven days as the ship makes its way across the Atlantic to find her brother Jamie, perform for the circus owner, and convince him to help get them both into America.

 

Rika from From Little Tokyo, With Love – Coming May 11th

from little tokyo

If Rika’s life seems like the beginning of a familiar fairy tale–being an orphan with two bossy cousins and working away in her aunts’ business–she would be the first to reject that foolish notion.

All that changes the instant she locks eyes with Grace Kimura, America’s reigning rom-com sweetheart, during the Nikkei Week Festival. From there, Rika embarks on a madcap adventure of hope and happiness–searching for clues that Grace is her long-lost mother, exploring Little Tokyo’s hidden treasures with cute actor Hank Chen, and maybe…finally finding a sense of belonging.

 

Pendt from Aetherbound – Coming May 25th

aetherbound

 

Zahru from The Cruelest Mercy – Coming June 15th

cruelest mercy

Sequel to The Kinder Poison! After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures, until prince Kasta returns with a shocking claim: he’s the true winner of the Crossing and the rightful heir, and he bears the gods’ mark as proof. Even more surprising–he’s not the only one.
Somehow, Zahru possesses the very same mark, giving her equal right to the throne. Now Zahru, Jet, and their allies must race against the clock to find a way to stop Kasta, because once he’s crowned, there’s no telling what horrors he’ll unleash to win the war.

 

Ellie and Stella from They’ll Never Catch Us – Coming July 27th

they'll never catch us

 

Andra from Devil in the Device – Coming August 24th!

Devil in the Device

Battling the dangerous forces buried within their minds, Andra and Zhade will have to find a way to work together before two power-hungry leaders and a deadly swarm of rogue technology destroy humanity for good.

 

 

Looking for more great reads? Here are 5 reasons it’s time to hop on the House of Hollow hype train!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: CHASING THE TRUTH by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, edited by Ruby Shamir

Do you want to know how to bring secrets to light? How journalists can hold the powerful to account? And how to write stories that can make a difference? In Chasing the Truth, award-winning journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey share their thoughts from their early days writing their first stories to their time as award-winning … Continued
See More

Start reading THE TAKING OF JAKE LIVINGSTON

The Taking of Jake Livingston is the perfect Halloween read, so we’re sharing an excerpt today to get you started! Scroll down to start reading about Jake Livingston, a sixteen-year-old who sees dead people everywhere. I live in Atlanta, but not really. Clark City is too far out for the train to come, unless it’s one of … Continued
See More

Start reading HELLO (FROM HERE) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King!

A love story? In quarantine? Yes! Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King is a heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: CATCH THE LIGHT by Kate Sweeney

Excerpt alert! Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney is a love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson, about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up … Continued
See More

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE CORPSE QUEEN by Heather M. Herrman

Excerpt alert! The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman is a dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, in which a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber…but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Coming to shelves September 14th! Scroll down to read a sneak peek! The dead do not always keep their secrets. Sometimes the … Continued
See More

Mystery books: our favorite detectives in YA!

We can’t resist a good mystery, or a protagonist determined to get to the bottom of one! So, if you’re looking for your next mystery to unravel, read on for 6 of our favorites!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy Hell hath no fury like Margot, who discovers a … Continued
See More

Books that PROVE the woods are the scariest place to be in a thriller

If you ever find yourself in a thriller novel, it’s probably best to steer towards the nearest exit. But more importantly, do NOT go into the woods, and here are 6 books that show why!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins Simply put: the only thing being lost in the woods…is being … Continued
See More

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and drinking pumpkin spice anything. Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume. Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.   Emika Chen – Warcross   Grab some hair chalk! Time to rainbow-up … Continued
See More

Start reading THE OTHER MERLIN by Robyn Schneider

Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on the Arthurian legend. Scroll down to start reading The Other Merlin! Everything was going to be fine. Emry Merlin staggered out the back door of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP