Site Loader

Reading Recs

25 Coming of age stories that will warm your heart

Come inside from the cold and snuggle up with a good book, because these 13 coming of age stories are guaranteed to warm your heart! (Psst, we also added 12 upcoming reads for you to add to your TBR for later too!)

 

Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions by Navdeep Singh Dhillon 

Untitled-3

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity.

 

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram 

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

Adib Khorram’s brilliant debut is for anyone who’s ever felt not good enough—then met a friend who makes them feel so much better than okay.

 

From Little Tokyo, With Love by Sarah Kuhn

from little tokyo

 

Mazie by Melanie Crowder 

Mazie

Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi

Perfectly Parvin

Sugar Town Queens by Malla Nunn 

9780525515609SugarTownQueens_ONLINE

From Los Angeles Times Book Prize Award winner and Edgar Award nominee Malla Nunn comes a stunning portrait of a family divided and a powerful story of how friendship saves and heals.

 

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman

we are inevitable

A poignant and uplifting novel about the power of community, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay.

 

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Frankly in Love

In this moving debut novel, David Yoon takes on the question of who am I? with a result that is humorous, heartfelt, and ultimately unforgettable.

 

The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance 

Wide Starlt_9780593116227_ONLINE

 

Flyy Girls #4 – Tobyn: The It Girl by Ashley Woodfolk 

Tobyn

Tobyn Wolfe knows she’s destined to be a rock star. She sings, she dances, and she’s got that “It” factor. Her dreams are even closer within her reach when she meets Maybe Someday–an incredible all-female band–during a night out with her older sister, Devyn. Joining their band would be the perfect way to show off her amazing vocals. It’s too bad her mom can’t see this. She wants Tobyn to go to college and become a serious musician, not follow in Devyn’s footsteps and wind up a struggling artist. Can Tobyn prove to her mom that she knows what’s best, or will her dreams end up becoming a horrible nightmare?

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez 

when we make it

An unforgettable young adult debut novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” touching on themes of mental illness, sexual assault, food insecurity and gentrification, in the Nuyorican literary tradition of Nicholasa Mohr and the work of contemporary writer Elizabeth Acevedo.

 

Huda F Are You? by Huda Fahmy 

huda f are you

From the creator of Yes, I’m Hot In This, this cheeky, hilarious, and honest graphic novel asks the question everyone has to figure out for themselves: Who are you?

 

Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney

Untitled-1

A story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order.

 

Coming of age stories to add to your TBR for later!

Love, Decoded by Jennifer Yen – March 8 

love decoded cover

For fans of Jenny Han and Jane Austen, a rom-com that’s equal parts hilarious and heartfelt about the unexpected consequences of one teen’s quest to help her friends find love, from the author of A Taste for Love.

 

The Moth Girl by Heather Kamins – March 8

the moth girl

From debut author Heather Kamins comes a beautiful and evocative story about one girl’s journey of choosing who she wants to be–in a life she never planned for.

 

Getting Over Max Cooper by Marcelle Karp – April 19

MaxCooper_ONLINE

Boundaries are crossed and the edge of sanity is tested in Marcelle Karp’s debut novel, which celebrates the complicated dynamics of female friendship and the heartbreaking ache of first love.

 

The Noh Family by Grace Shim – May 3

noh family

A sparkling K-drama inspired debut teen novel by Grace Shim, THE NOH FAMILY introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Kang, who is reunited with her deceased father’s estranged family via a DNA test, and is soon whisked off to Seoul to join them…

 

Practice Girl by Estelle Laure – May 17

PracticeGirl_ONLINE

Jo never heard of the label “practice girl”…until she was called one. And those two devastating words would irreversibly change the way she saw everyone–including herself. An emotional and empowering novel about reputation and double standards, perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Sarah Dessen.

 

I Guess I Live Here Now by Claire Ahn – May 24

I guess i live here now

For fans of Never Have I Ever and Crazy Rich Asians, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance.

 

Kings of B’more by R. Eric Thomas – May 31

kings of 'bmore

Two Black, queer best friends face their last day together with an epic journey through Baltimore in this magnetic YA debut by celebrated cultural critic and bestselling author of Here for It R. Eric Thomas.

 

Man o’ War by Cory McCarthy – May 31

man o war

An achingly honest and frequently hilarious coming-of-age novel about an Arab American trans swimmer fighting to keep their head above water in a landlocked midwestern town.

TJ Powar Has Something to Prove by Jesmeen Kaur Deo – June 7

TJPowar_ONLINE

A charming rom-com about high school debater TJ Powar who—after becoming the subject of an ugly meme—makes a resolution to stop shaving, plucking, and waxing, and prove that she can be her hairy self and still be beautiful…but soon finds this may be her most difficult debate yet. Perfect for fans of Netflix’s Never Have I Ever.

 

A Heavy Dose of Allison Tandy by Jeff Bishop – July 12

Allison Tandy

Instant Karma meets I Wish You All the Best in a funny and heartfelt debut about a boy’s delirious summertime quest with his ex-girlfriend.

 

It Sounds Like This by Anna Meriano – August 2

it sounds like this cover

A sweet and nerdy contemporary YA novel set in the world of marching band perfect for fans of Late to the Party, Fat Chance, Charlie Vega and Kate in Waiting.

 

Azar on Fire by Olivia Abtahi – August 23

azar on fire

Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA.

Penguin Teen