Site Loader

What’s Happening

A Beginner’s Guide to the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Series

Peculiars, rejoice! It’s time to officially celebrate the release of Miss Peregrine’s Museum of Wonders by Ransom Riggs. Remember to get your copy here and scroll down for all things peculiar, whether you’re a forever fan who needs a refresher or brand new to the series!

Psst! We have one more surprise! Miss Peregrine has a VERY busy schedule. BUT she was kind enough to provide an interview with Ransom Riggs! Scroll down for details.

Alright, let’s dive in!

What is the order of the books?

Miss Peregrine’s Museum of Wonders is a gorgeous companion guide that can be read separately from the rest of the series. As for the others, it’s best to read them in this order!

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City
  3. Library of Souls
  4. Tales of the Peculiar
  5. A Map of Days
  6. The Conference of the Birds
  7. The Desolations of Devil’s Acre
  8. Miss Peregrine’s Museum of Wonders

What’s the set up?

16-year-old Jacob Portman grew up hearing his grandfather Abe’s stories about monsters and people with strange and amazing powers. Jacob assumed that these were just tall tales, until his grandfather is killed and Jacob sees someone or something that he can’t explain.

Haunted by Abe’s dying words, Jacob follows a set of cryptic clues to a remote island in Wales and to the orphanage where Abe spent part of his youth in the 1940’s.

The orphanage is a ruin, but, oddly, it is not empty. Jacob meets a group of children living there who claim to have known Abe as a boy.

Abe lived to be an old man but these children are still, well, children. How is this possible?

Without realizing it, Jacob has stumbled into the world of the peculiars.

Okay…so what is a “peculiar”?

Peculiars, or “Syndrigasts”, are individuals born with remarkable, sometimes terrifying, abilities. Maybe they can levitate, maybe they can control fire, maybe they can raise the dead.

These amazing powers have a way of drawing unwanted attention and peculiars have been feared and persecuted throughout history.

Why haven’t the peculiars aged? WHAT IS LOOP DAY?

For their own protection, peculiars typically live apart from the rest of society and more importantly they live outside of time.

There are hidden places around the world known as “time loops”. Within one of these loops, time resets each day. A peculiar living within a loop experiences the same day over and over, but they retain their memories with each reset. And living within a loop, a peculiar barely ages at all.

Loops are a safe haven for peculiars and they are carefully controlled and maintained by a special group of peculiars called Ymbrynes, aka female peculiars who can manipulate time and can take the form of a specific bird.

And what is the ever-so-famous day our fav peculiars are looped in? September 3rd. LOOP DAY!

Say what now?

Ymbrynes (pronounced IM-brins) can manipulate time fields and create temporal loops. All Ymbrynes are female, able take the form of birds, and they seek out young peculiars in need of protection and care.

The Ymbryne who cares for Jacob’s new friends and oversees their loop is a particularly gifted Ymbryne known as Miss Peregrine. We love Miss Peregrine.

Got it! The peculiars have super powers, they barely age, and they live safely within their loops. Sounds fun!

Well…actually there are these monsters called Hollowgasts that want to kill and eat the peculiars.

See, a while back a group of peculiars seeking eternal life tampered with a loop and they were transformed into horrible creatures. They now hunt other peculiars and, except for their shadows, Hollowgasts are completely invisible.

If a Hollowgast eats enough peculiars, they transform into a Wight. Wights have no peculiar abilities and serve as scouts for the Hallowgasts. Wights can almost pass for humans, except that their eyes have no pupils.

Hollowgasts and Wights know that peculiars live together in loops and that makes them easy prey.

This sounds dangerous. Maybe the peculiars should just leave their loop and take their chances in the human world?

Nice try! But no. When Peculiars step outside of a loop, they begin to age forward at an accelerated rate. The longer they have spent in a loop, the more aggressive the aging. Jacob’s new friends have been in their loop since 1940, so leaving is not an option.

What are they supposed to do?!?

Well, Grandpa Abe knew that the Peculiars were in danger and led Jacob there to help them.

Abe knew that his grandson was unique. He knew that Jacob was, oh what’s the right word here…peculiar?

Okay, that’s all you’re getting out of us!

That sounds like a pretty big world! What’s next?!

Miss Peregrine’s Museum of Wonders is what’s next! Get ready for an indispensable guide to the peculiar world, perfect for longtime fans and new readers alike. Covering everything from how to blend in with suspicious normals to the most popular time loops to visit as a temporal tourist, this essential volume is ideal for anyone curious about the world of Miss Peregrine: its strange history, curious practices, fascinating places, most famous (and infamous) names, and much more.

And who better to tell you all about the world of peculiars than Miss Peregrine herself?! Click here for access to an interview between author Ransom Riggs and Miss Peregrine!

Penguin Teen