Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Love: stunning 2021 books that are just as beautiful on the inside!

SHARE

2021 has been killing it in the cover category, so here are a few of our favorite covers from this year so far–on books that are even more gorgeous on the inside!

 

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman

we are inevitable

That BLUE!!! This heartfelt novel is must for both the cover love, and being instant favorite summer read.

 

The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney

The-Valley-and-the-Flood

This gorgeous artwork combining our protagonist and the terrifying prophesy hanging over her head is an easy 2021 favorite for us.

 

Cast in Secrets and Shadow by Andrea Robertson

cast in secrets

We love the epic fantasy vibes both in and outside of this book!

 

A Queen of Gilded Horns by Amanda Joy

queen of gilded thorns

Eva is looking FIERCE on this cover, and the inside is just hard to look away from.

 

Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

The 1950’s setting is captured so beautifully, with a hint of romance hiding on the cover–this stunning book is a MUST for your shelves.

 

What’s Not to Love by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley

What's NotToLove_ONLINE

Not only does this cover go PERFECTLY with all the other #Wibbroka books, have you noticed all the easter eggs on the bookshelves?!

 

Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan

somegirlsdo_ONLINE

The sunset. The romance. The VIBE. We’re in love.

 

From Little Tokyo, With Love by Sarah Kuhn

from little tokyo

We love seeing Rika’s determination on this cover–and just WAIT until you meet her in the book!

 

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

You’ve probably seen this cover everywhere. Iris just WATCHES you from it. And we can confirm that the rumors are true: once you open this book, you won’t be able to close it.

 

Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee

LuckoftheTitanic_CV_ONLINE

Everything about this cover is exquisite, and you’ll fall so deeply in love with these characters you’ll forget all about what’s coming on this ill-fated journey…until it hits you.

 

Flamefall by Rosaria Munda

Flamefall_ONLINE

The more you look at this cover, the more you’ll notice the fantastical details. The same goes for the second and third time you inevitably re-read it.

 

Tell Me My Name by Amy Reed

Tell Me My Name

The touches of gold on this cover just SCREAM #bookstagram…and you’ll have lots of feelings to add to the caption once you get to that twist ending.

 

The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance

Wide Starlt_9780593116227_ONLINE

The dreamy night sky really makes this cover, and you can bet those lights play a VERY big part in the book.

 

We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

we are the ashes

Not only do we love this cover, but there are some stunning illustrations inside too!

 

The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz

Queens Secret_ONLINE

The Queen’s Assassin was one of our favorite covers in 2020, and book 2 CAME THROUGH.

 

The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold

The Electric Kingdom

It’s hard to capture the beautiful, complex nature of this novel on a cover…but this one did so perfectly, and we’re obsessed.

 

Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore

Winterkeep

This is a stunner, and truly captures the rich fantasy world Kristin Cashore has BLESSED us with.

 

A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen

A Taste for Love

We’re literally making little heart eyes at this book.😍

 

 

 

 

Searching for more incredible reads? Here are 15 critically-acclaimed novels to add to your shelf!

 

#ReaderLove

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! 8 YA books that take a serious turn!

Love a mind boggling plot twist? These 8 YA books take a SERIOUS turn, and are guaranteed to be living in your head rent free for weeks to come!   Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain When we say plot twist, we actually mean plot twist after plot twist. NOTHING is as it seems … Continued
See More

YA Retellings we are OBSESSED with

Do you love classic lit, fairytales, and legends? We think you’d adore these modern retellings!   Love Camelot? Try…   The Other Merlin by Robyn Schneider Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on … Continued
See More

YA Graphic Novel MUST Reads for Your Shelf!

Calling all graphic novel lovers! Before 2021 ends, we’re here to make sure you have these 3 graphic novels to take into the new year!   Huda F Are You? by Huda Fahmy From the creator of Yes, I’m Hot In This, this cheeky, hilarious, and honest graphic novel asks the question everyone has to figure … Continued
See More

Bisexual Books To Add Your TBR

Today is #BiVisibilityDay! So we’re recommending some of our favorite reads with bi rep. These books highlight bisexual characters in kickass adventures and swoon-worthy love stories that are perfect for your shelf!   Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an openly gay track star falls … Continued
See More

Read an Excerpt of Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Darius the Great is BACK in paperback and we already have hearts coming out of our eyes. In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It’s everything he’s ever wanted–but what if he deserves better? Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

Need a break from all the Halloween horror? We’ve got you! Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just as … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo. Scroll down to read an excerpt! How I Got My Name Sarai  Let’s start the story where abandon meets faith. Aight, so, boom. … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More

These laugh-out-loud books are GUARANTEED to make you smile

Whether you had a bad day, lost your favorite bookmark, or are grieving the tragic death of your favorite fictional character, we have a few books that are GUARANTEED to make you smile. So scroll down for some of our favorite reads with witty characters, hilarious banter, and all around good vibes.   The Other … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP